Skip to main content

EndNote referencing software: Step 4b: Importing Database References

Software that helps automate your referencing. In this guide find out about EndNote, download EndNote (UWA staff and students only) and complete our Endnote Learning Path

In this Learning Path section (5 mins): 

Need help with this? Contact AskUWA contact email for further assistance.

 

Direct Export from databases method

Direct export allows you to select and download groups of citations directly from a database (e.g. Scopus, ProQuest, Web of Science etc.) into your EndNote library. It is available from most subscribed databases and is supported by most browsers although each of them does it slightly differently. Look for instructions in the database like: Export / Save / Send to Citation Manager.

This Send references to EndNote video (2m38) demonstrates exporting from PubMed, while the activity below guides you in exporting from the Scopus Database.  

Note: Mac users please note that Safari does NOT support direct export. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome as alternatives; the instructions below are for Google Chrome.

Direct Export from Scopus to EndNote

Here is another example of directly exporting from a database, in this case, Scopus. See the optional step later on for other import methods: Other Import Methods.


Direct Export from Scopus
1. Search OneSearch for Scopus, click Available Online then on the name of the database in the white box.
2. Search for "stem cells"
3. Select individual references by checking the boxes.

undefined

4. Click on … EXPORT and select RIS FORMAT

undefined

5. Select the information you want to export e.g. Citation Information, Abstracts and Keywords.

6. Click Export. If using Chrome, the file will be in the bottom left corner of the screen eg scopus(1).ris. Double click on this file, which will then open in your EndNote library into Imported References.
Notes:
• If you have closed your Library you may be asked to select an EndNote library at this point. Highlight the required library and hit OPEN. The download will proceed.
• If the browser only offers to save the file, wait until the file appears in the download bar at the bottom of the browser window and then click on the file to open. File associations must be set to open these types of files with EndNote.

Your up to important step 5 -  Learn how to manage your Endnote Library