Skip to Main Content

University Library

Referencing style - Chicago: Books and Ebooks

A guide to using the Chicago citation referencing style for footnotes and reference lists.

Books, Ebooks, Book Chapters

If a book is available in more than one format (i.e. print, eBook), cite the version you consulted. If using an eBook, the DOI or URL must be included in the bibliographic entry. 

Material type Note (footnote) example

Subsequent note entry

(see CMOS 14:30)

 Bibliography example
Book: Single Author     11. Richard Read, Art and its Discontents: The Early Life of Adrian Stokes (Aldershot: Ashgate, 2002), 65.     25. Read, Art and its Discontents, 70. Read, Richard. Art and its Discontents: The Early Life of Adrian Stokes. Aldershot: Ashgate, 2002.
Book: Two or three authors

    8. Philip D. Goldswain, Hannah Lewi and Emma Williamson, Visualising the Architecture of Federation (Perth, WA: Curtin University of Technology and The National Council for the Centenary of Federation, 2001), 83.

*Authors are listed in the same order used on the title page for both the note and the bibliography.

     12. Goldswain, Lewi and Williamson, Visualising the Architecture of Federation, 88.

Goldswain, Philip D., Hannah Lewi, and Emma Williamson. Visualising the Architecture of Federation. Perth, WA: Curtin University of Technology and The National Council for the Centenary of Federation, 2001.

* In the bibliography only the first author's name is inverted and a comma must appear before and after the first author's given name or initial
Book: Four or more authors

    11. Christopher Vernon et al., The Griffin Legacy: Canberra, the Nation's Capital in the 21st Century (Canberra, ACT: National Capital Authority, 2004), 32.

*In the note, list only the first author, followed by et al. ("and others").

     20. Vernon et al., The Griffin Legacy, 41.

Vernon, C., S. MacKenzie, I. Wood-Bradley, and D. Headon. The Griffin Legacy: Canberra, the Nation's Capital in the 21st Century. Canberra, ACT: National Capital Authority, 2004.

*Up to ten authors, list all the authors in the bibliography. If more than ten, list the first seven authors followed by 'et al.'.
Book: Two authors (eds) or more with same family name     1. Christopher Kendris and Theodore Kendris, 501 Spanish Verbs, 7th ed. (Hauppauge, NY: Barron’s Educational Series, 2010), 14.     4. Kendris and Kendris, 501 Spanish Verbs, 27–28. Kendris, Christopher, and Theodore Kendris, 501 Spanish Verbs, 7th ed. Hauppauge, NY: Barron’s Educational Series, 2010.
Book: multi-volume works

    1. Muriel St. Clare Byrne, ed., The Lisle Letters (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981), 4:243.

*The volume cited and page number are separated by a colon. In the short form the volume number does not need to be repeated.

For more examples go to the Chicago Manual of Style Online: Chapter 14. section 116 to 122.

     4. Muriel St. Clare Byrne, ed., The Lisle Letters, 255. Byrne, Muriel St. Clare, ed. The Lisle Letters. 6 vols. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981.
Book: No author

    4. Stanze in lode della donna brutta (Florence, 1547), 13.

More examples: Chicago Manual of Style Online chapter 14 section 79.

     7. Stanze in lode della donna, 14. Stanze in lode della donna brutta. Florence, 1547.
Book: Editor, translator or compiler     2. Philip D. Goldswain and William Taylor eds., An everyday Transience: The Urban Imaginary of Goldfields Photographer John Joseph Dwyer (Perth, WA: UWA Publishing, 2010), 10.

    11. Goldswain and Taylor, eds., An Everyday Transience, 7.

 Goldswain, Philip D., and William Taylor, eds. An Everyday Transience: The Urban Imaginary of Goldfields Photographer John Joseph Dwyer. Perth, WA: UWA Publishing, 2010.
Book: Editor, translator or compiler in addition to author     12. Heinz Rasch, Some Roots of Modern Architecture, trans. and ed. George Jelinek and Joan Jelinek (London: Tiranti, 1967), 20.     18. Heinz Rasch, Some Roots of Modern Architecture, 22. Rasch, Heinz. Some Roots of Modern Architecture. Translated and edited by George Jelinek and Joan Jelinek. London: Tiranti, 1967.
Book: Author's name appears in title     9. Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, ed. John Bigelow (Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott, 1868), 233.     13. Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, 234.

Franklin, Benjamin. Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin.  Edited by John Bigelow. Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott, 1868.
Book: Corporate or Organisation as author     8. Gehl Architects, Perth 2009 : Public Spaces and Public Life (Perth, WA: Department of Planning and Urban Development, 1994), 105.     12. Gehl Architects, Perth 2009, 107. Gehl Architects. Perth 2009: Public Spaces and Public Life. Perth, WA: Department of Planning and Urban Developments, 1994.
Book: Government publication     5. Western Australian Department of Planning and Urban Development, Metropolitan Centres: Policy Statement for the Perth Metropolitan Region (Perth, W.A.: Department of Planning and Urban Development, 1991) 21.     9. Western Australian Department of Planning and Urban Development, Metropolitan Centres, 22.

Western Australian Department of Planning and Urban Development. Metropolitan Centres: Policy Statement for the Perth Metropolitan Region. Perth, W.A.: Department of Planning and Urban Development, 1991.
Book: Chapter or part of a book     3. Christopher Vernon and George Seddon, "Hacket and Annear: Laying the Foundations," in A Landscape for Learning: A History of the Grounds of The University of Western Australia, ed. George Seddon and Gillian Lilleyman (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2006), 32-33.     6. Vernon and Seddon, "Hackett and Annear, "34. Vernon, Christopher, and George Seddon. "Hackett and Annear: Laying the Foundations." In A Landscape for Learning: A History of the Grounds of The University of Western Australia, edited by George Seddon and Gillian Lilleyman, 30-35. Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2006.
Book: Edition other than first     1. Quentin Beresford and Gary Partingon, Reform and resistance in aboriginal education: the Australian experience, rev.ed. (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2012), 55.     5. Beresford and Partington, Reform and Resistance, 57. Beresford, Quentin, and Gary Partington. Reform and Resistance in Aboriginal Education: The Australian Experience. Rev. ed. Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2012.
Book: Reprint editions

    2. Albert Schweitzer, J. S. Bach, trans. Ernest Newman, 2 vols. (1911; repr., New York: Dover, 1966), 53.

More examples about reprint and modern editions: Chicago Manual of Style Online chapter 14 section 114.

     4. Schweizer, J. S. Bach, 67. Schweitzer, Albert. J. S. Bach. Translated by Ernest Newman. 2 vols. 1911. Reprint, New York: Dover, 1966.
eBook

    1. Simon Unwin, Analysing Architecture (Hoboken: Taylor and Francis, 2009), http://uwa.eblib.com.au.ezproxy.edu.au/patron/ FullRecord.aspx?p=369114.

*For eBooks consulted online, list a URL; include an access date only if one is required by your discipline. If no fixed page numbers are available, you can include a section title or a chapter or other number.  See example below.

     3. Unwin, Analysing Architecture, 22. Unwin, Simon. Analysing Architecture. Hoboken: Taylor and Francis, 2009. http://uwa.eblib.com.auezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/patron/ FullRecord. aspx?p+369114.
eBook: Chapter, no page number

    1. Mark Evan Bonds, Absolute Music: The History of an Idea (New York: Oxford University Press, 2014), chap. 3, doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0004

* In the notes, the URLs are based on the DOIs for the chapters rather than the DOI for the work as a whole (as in the bibliography entry).   Example taken from: Chicago Manual of Style Online chapter 14 section 161.

     4. Bonds, Absolute Music. Bonds, Mark Evan. Absolute Music: The History of an Idea. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014. doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0001.
Dictionary / Encyclopaedia entry (online)

1. New Grove Dictionary of Opera, s.v. “Rake’s Progress, The” by Richard Taruskin, accessed March 21, 2017, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

  

New Grove Dictionary of Opera, s.v. “Rake’s Progress, The” by Richard Taruskin. Accessed March 21, 2017. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

*See The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 233.
Dictionary / Encyclopaedia (print) for substantial, authored entry     1. Robert Winter, Maurice Brown and Eric Sams, “Schubert, Franz,” in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, ed. Stanley Sadie and John Tyrell (London: MacMillan, 2001), 22:656.     4. Winter, Brown and Sams, "Schubert", 22:657. Winter, Robert, Maurice Brown and Eric Sams. “Schubert, Franz.” In The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrell. 29 vols. London: MacMillan, 2001.
Dictionary/Encyclopaedia entry (online) for substantial, authored entry     1. Robert Winter, Maurice Brown and Eric Sams, “Schubert, Franz,” in Grove Music Online (Oxford University Press), accessed March 21, 2017, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ subscriber/article/grove/music/25109.     4. Winter, Brown and Sams, "Schubert". Winter, Robert, Maurice Brown and Eric Sams. “Schubert, Franz.” In Grove Music Online. Oxford University Press. Accessed March 21, 2017. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ subscriber/article/grove/music/25109.

 

Creating Notes (Footnotes) using Microsoft Word

By default, Microsoft Word will format footnotes at the end of the page with a superscript number and no indent.  

For the Chicago Notes and Bibliography style, you will need to manually change the font size of footnote number and indent it.

See our instructions on how to create a Note (footnote) in Word and manually edit the format according to the Chicago Notes and Bibliography style.

Please check with your Unit Coordinator to see if their preference is to use the formal Chicago style footnote formatting or the default Word format.

CONTENT LICENCE

 Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.