Legislation: Law reform
This Guide provides information on how to find Acts, Delegated Legislation, Bills, Parliamentary documents and extrinsic materials for Australian jurisdictions. It also provides information on how to keep up to date with Legislation.
State Law Reform Agencies
- Law Reform Commission of Western AustraliaFind Reports & Papers under the Publications heading halfway down the page.
- Queensland Law Reform CommissionClick on Publications to browse, or Search from the top of the screen
Federal and multijurisdictional sites
- Australasian Law Reform LibraryAustLII database. Searches New Zealand and Australian state and federal law reform publications. Date ranges vary.
- Informit SearchSome law reform publications are listed in Informit, with full text included or linked where available. Search for the commission's name, report title, or the subject "law reform".
Law reform agencies International
- World Law Reform Database (British Columbia Law Institute)Index to publications of law reform agencies in the Commonwealth of Nations and the United States (some reports may not be available online).
- WorldLII Law ReformSearches across law reform databases hosted on the Legal Information Institutes (LIIs). Includes only a handful of common law jurisdictions at this time.
How to find law reform publications?
- This Guide. Use the links in this guide to access Australian and International law reform agencies for common law jurisdictions. Browse for Publications or Search if it's offered
- OneSearch You can place requests for various historical and current reports and papers through OneSearch
- Australian Law Reform Commission Library in Hein Online: Look out for this title in the Browse Databases by Name section
- Google Most law reform agencies publish on the web. Use Google and the same search technique you used when searching OneSearch to see what's available
Image reproduced with permission from Stu's Views: Law & Lawyer Cartoons
http://www.stus.com
Google for law reform
Banner image sources: Flikr (1) licensed under a CC0 Public Domain license. Images Wikipedia (2), Wikimedia Commons (3) & Wikipedia (4) licensed under a CC BY-SA 3.0 license. Wikimedia Commons (5) licensed under CC BY 2.5 AU licence.
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs, AI generated images or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
CRICOS Code: 00126G
PRV12169, Australian University
PRV12169, Australian University