You can bookmark items using the star icon in the vertical toolbar in item view. This will save the items to ‘My Collection’. You’ll get a confirmation message every time you bookmark an item to your collection. To revisit and organise these bookmarked items click ‘My Collection’ in the Navigation Panel.

Under ‘Organise’ in ‘My Collection’, you can create and manage groups of items in smaller customised collections. To add an Item to an existing collection, click on the name of the collection under ‘Organise’ and drag and drop items from the ‘All Items’ area (this is not mobile compatible function). Once a collection is created it can be shared via email or social media (click the icon), renamed (click the icon) and deleted (click the  icon).

To remove an individual Item from one of your customised collections hover over the item thumbnail and click the red ‘x’ that appears in the bottom right hand corner. The item will be deleted from the custom collection but will remain in your main collection on the left.

To remove an Item from your main collection, click the red ‘x’ that appears in the bottom right hand corner of the thumbnail in the ‘All Items in my collection’ window. It will be entirely removed from this area of your profile.

Back to top of page

UWA Collected is designed to be compatible with sharing content and searches with other people. Links shared from UWA Collected will only be visible to those with access to the shared items or pages.

If you’re not already logged in, clicking a shared link will first take you to the login screen.

To share an item, you can either use the icons at the bottom of the left panel in item view to share an item to Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Tumblr, or open the link in a blank email and send on. You can also copy the URL of an item, a page, or search results and paste it into an email.

Back to top of page

Adding tags to existing items on UWA Collected is a means of interacting with material on the system.

Community contributions - such as tags - are moderated. Anyone at Member level or above can suggest tags for existing Items such as images and documents and will receive a pop-up notification letting them know that their suggestion has been submitted and will be reviewed.

Once reviewed, information about the outcome of the review process is available in the My Contributions area of UWA Collected. All approved tags will appear on UWA Collected.

To tag an item:

1. Login to UWA Collected and search or browse – you must be logged in to suggest a tag 

2. Locate the Item you want to add tags to in a search 

3. Click the thumbnail to open your selected Item in Item View

4. Click the ‘Add’ Icon in the left-hand Interactive Panel:

Tagging step-by-step:

1. Click on item where you’d like the tag appear (a little crosshairs symbol with instructions appears, allowing you to put the tag on the item in an accurate position):

2. Once you’ve positioned your tagging point you’re invited to add more detail, select type of tag (usually person) from the drop-down menu:

3. type very slowly to allow UWA Collected to check an index of existing items and see if there is a known person that matches your intended tag, or whether you’re adding your own new tag to the system

Note that the entire tagging box is quite long and contains a message about tag review if opened completely:

4. Where a tag matches an existing item entry on UWA Collected the match will appear in a drop-down box to be selected. If there is an existing tag that matches, this will appear underneath the text box. Click the suggested text if relevant:

This will create a hyperlink to that Item e.g. if there is an existing person Item called ‘John Smith’ it would link to that if you selected the suggested text ‘John Smith’.

Site Admin will check that the tag is correct and relevant and send through any feedback about the suggested tag along with an Approved or Declined message.

5. Where a match does not appear, you can still add an entry for consideration, simply type it in and hit save. NOTE: Adding a tag where there is not yet a corresponding entry on UWA Collected is still useful, it can aid things like searching and the future creation of entries.

6. You will then receive a pop up saying that your suggested tag has been submitted for review.

7. If approved, the tag will appear on the item. The tag will be underlined if it corresponds to an existing entry on UWA Collected (see Alan Robson tag in photo below). It will not be underlined if there is not yet a corresponding entry on UWA Collected (see Fay Gale tag in photo below):

Back to top of page