Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote referencing software: Advanced Features

Software that helps automate your referencing. In this guide find out about EndNote, download EndNote (UWA staff and students only) and complete our EndNote Learning Path

Advanced EndNote & MS Word

There may be times when you just want to create an independent bibliography without in-text citations (e.g., a reading list, key articles on a topic, list of articles written by a particular author).


Steps  

1) Go to your EndNote library

2) Highlight the references you wish to include in your bibliography (or on the EndNote toolbar, go to the Edit > Select All)

3) From the style drop-down menu in Summary, choose the output style (on the lower right hand side) you want to use for your bibliography

4) Go to the References tab and choose Copy Formatted Reference

5) Open a Word document and paste (or Ctrl + V) the references into a Word document

NOTE: The references in the saved file are not linked to EndNote and the style cannot be changed using the EndNote program.

See this EndNote FAQ for further options for creating bibliographies

 
Creating an annotated independent bibliography

See this step-by-step guide to adding annotation on an article within your EndNote software to create an annotated independent bibliography using the APA referencing style. 

Creating multiple bibliographies within one document

There is a version of the APA 6th edition style that is already configured to support multiple bibliographies. It is called APA 6th (sections) and you will find it in the styles list in EndNote. 

However, the other EndNote styles commonly used at UWA produce a single bibliography at the very end of a document.  If your document is divided into chapters and you wish to have bibliographies at the end of each chapter as well as at the end of the document, you will need to edit the style you are using. 

1. Go to the Tools menu in an EndNote library and select Output Styles

 

 

2. Click on Edit [Style].  If the style you wish to edit is not visible, click on Open Style Manager, highlight your chosen style, and click on Edit.

3. To ensure you do not overwrite the original file do a save now.  From the main File menu select the SAVE AS option and save the file with a new name. The new Style will automatically save to the current Styles folder.

 

 

4. In the Style editing window click on Sections.

5. Usually a style is set to CREATE A COMPLETE BIBLIOGRAPHY AT THE END OF THE DOCUMENT.  Select the radio button next to CREATE A BIBLIOGRAPHY FOR EACH SECTION AND A COMPLETE BIBLIOGRAPHY AT THE END OF THE DOCUMENT.

 

 

6. Save the change.

 

Setting up your Word document for multiple reference lists

1. Open your document and place the cursor at the end of the first section or chapter where you want a bibliography to appear.

2. From PAGE LAYOUT tab, select Breaks. This example uses the Continuous option so that the end of one chapter and the beginning of the next both display on the same page.

 

 

3. Create a Break at the end of each section or chapter. 

4. Using your new “Sections” output style, references appearing in-text in a section of the document will display directly below that section as well as at the end.

Merging Documents and EndNote References

If you have multiple Word documents containing EndNote references that you wish to merge (e.g. separate chapters):

1.Unformat each document - Word > EndNote 20 > Convert to Unformatted. Save these changes 
2. In Word, click Insert Object - Text from File
3. Select the documents in the order in which you want them to appear in the final document. Note: change the file names if you need to.
4. Save this version of your document.
5. Reformat your final document - Word > Tools > EndNote 20 > Update Citations and Bibliography

Note: all citations in all documents to be merged should be drawn from a single EndNote library

Step by step examples:

A. Small documents

The  steps below show the two procedures for merging multiple documents that have EndNote citations, each with its own EndNote reference list. The goal of the merge is to produce a single document with a single reference list at the end. This must be done carefully so that the citations from the individual files are not corrupted. If a small number of simple documents are to be merged, a simple copy/paste operation may be the fastest way to do this. The citations in each document should be unformatted before attempting to copy/paste.

1. Open your EndNote library and leave it open.

2.Open the first document that you wish to combine with others.

3. On the EndNote tab, click on the small triangle symbol next to the Convert Citations and Bibliography button. A drop-down menu will appear.

4. Select the option Convert to Unformatted Citations. The EndNote citations in your text will now appear in curly brackets. Example: {Audard, 2007 #32}

5. Repeat these steps with all documents that need to be combined.

6. You can now copy and paste the text from the unformatted documents into a single Word document.

7. When all documents have been pasted in, click on the Update Citations and Bibliography button to reapply the citation style of your choice.


B. Larger documents

For larger and/or complex documents such as theses, it might be advisable to create a Master document in Word. There are pros and cons to using Master documents. Standard formatting of subdocuments is a key element in their successful use.

1. Open your EndNote library and leave it open.

2. Follow the instructions in steps 3 and 4 above to unformat the citations in all the Word documents to be combined. Save and close them.

3. Create a new document in Word, click on the VIEW tab and select OUTLINE

4. Check that the Level is set to Level 1.

5. Enter a heading for the first chapter or the work as whole and press ENTER

6. Enter headings for additional subdocuments pressing ENTER after each heading.

7. Position the cursor where the first file is to be inserted.

8. Click on SHOW DOCUMENT and then INSERT in the Outlining ribbon.


9. Select the first file to be added as a subdocument and click on OPEN.

10. If prompted, select YES in answer to the formatting questions offered.

11. Repeat for all files to be included.

12. Click CLOSE at the right end of the outlining ribbon and check document. Make adjustments if required.

13. Click on the EndNote tab in the combined document (your EndNote Library should still be open).

14. Click on UPDATE CITATIONS AND BIBLIOGRAPHY and the citations will be amalgamated into one reference list at the end of the document.

Sending a text only version of your MS Word document and EndNote references

When you send your MS Word with EndNote generated references to your unit coordinator or research supervisor or tutor a travelling EndNote Library is sent with it, which allows others to see view your document and the references inserted.  However sometimes, for large documents and in particular, when there are a significant number of track changes being made can cause your MS Word document to crash. 

In these circumstances, it may be better to send your supervisor a text-only version of your MS Word, using the 'Covert to Plain Text' function. 

This will leave your references in your document but remove the connection codes that link it to your EndNote Library. 

Note:  This will mean that any tracked changes would need to be added back into your EndNote connected version of your MS Word document if you will need to continue to insert and update references in your document. 

Advanced EndNote Styles

In order to install a specific publishing style on a library computer (a common situation for post graduates)

please note EndNote preferences are set up to locate styles in the T:Drive which students don't have read write access to, likewise the C:Drive.

The workaround is to:

  1. Create a new folder called 'Styles' in the documents folder
  2.  Save the specific publishing style into the 'Styles' folder in the documents folder
  3.  Reset the EndNote preferences, see Edit> Preferences > Folder Locations to locate this style within the new 'Styles Folder'

 

If the referencing style you need to use is not available in EndNote Desktop or from EndNote.com's Output Styles website, you can create a style that matches your criteria by editing an existing one.

Open your EndNote Library and click Tools> Output Styles > edit “Name of your selected style”

Before editing the style, create a copy and work from the copied file. To do this, File > Save as, leave the name as is (e.g. 'APA 7th Copy'), and press Save.

In the style's editing window, use the options on the left to make modifications (edit) your style. For example, select Bibliography > Templates to edit how the reference will appear in your reference list.

 

Watch these guide and video produced by Clarivate Analytics to learn the details on how to create or edit an EndNote style.

 Save the modifications or changes you made in step 3 by File > Save, then close window by pressing X.  Both the original style and the copy you created will now appear in your list of referencing styles.

Advanced EndNote Desktop & Online

UWA Staff and Student License for EndNote Online

The licensed copy of UWA EndNote desktop license the UWA Library provides for all staff and students includes free access to EndNote Online. 

EndNote online can be used to provide a way to back up your EndNote desktop library and to share your library with others.  

When using both EndNote desktop and online versions you need to be careful that you only sync one desktop library with your online version.  

 

Tips for setting up an EndNote Online account

1. On campus (using a campus computer or Unifi) you can register using the Preferences settings in the EndNote program or go direct to http://www.myendnoteweb.com/ to register.

Off campus you will need to access via a Web of Science database. Go to Web of Science and select MY ENDNOTE WEB.


2. Register as a user with an email address and set a password.

3. When you login to your new EndNote Web account the My References tab will be open on an empty library. The references you create or download will appear on this tab. Note: If the Getting Started screen appears first just click on the My References tab.

4. Once you have an EndNote Web account, you can access it from any computer by going directly to http://www.myendnoteweb.com and logging in.
Note: If you are working on a group project, all members will need an EndNote Web account to share references using EndNote Web.

You may also decide you have a preference for using only EndNote online, even though it offers less functionality. 

Creating a Group in EndNote Online

1. Click on the ORGANISE Tab and choose Manage My Groups. Click on NEW GROUP.  

Manage My Groups
2. You may be asked to allow Scripted Windows at this point.  Enter a name for the group.

New Group name


3. When you click OK the Manage My Group will redisplay with your new group.

4. Click on MANAGE SHARING and then Start sharing this group.

Manage Sharing
5. Enter the email addresses of people you wish to share the Group with. You can either type addresses in individually or load them from a file.

6. Set access privileges.  You can give different privileges to various group members by adding them separately.  Click APPLY and close the window.

Set privileges

7. When you are ready to begin sharing the Group, check the SHARE box.

Share

8. You can add or delete group members, change addresses and privileges by clicking on MANAGE SHARING for the group.

Manage Sharing

9. To stop sharing a group simply uncheck the SHARE box.

Adding references to a Group

1. Go to MY REFERENCES and check the citations you want to include in the Group.

2. Select the group from the ADD TO GROUP pull down menu. You could also create a new group to at this point.

Add to group
 

Using shared references

1. Shared groups are seen under Others’ Groups for all individuals who have been given access but are not the owner.  To hide the shared Group(s) uncheck SHOW.

2. To use shared references in your own documents, check USE FOR CITE WHILE YOU WRITE.

Groups shared by others
Tip: Hover over the Access icon to check privileges.

3. Read & Write privileges give an individual the ability to:

  • Edit shared references
  • Remove references from the shared group
  • Shared citations are available to generate a Bibliography or an export file.

Notes:

  • References cannot be deleted from the owner's library.
  • If more than one person is editing the same reference simultaneously, the person who saves last will submit the final edits.

4. Read only privileges do not permit shared references to be altered.

Others' Groups

Setting up an EndNote Web Library with MS Word


1. Go to the Edit menu on the EndNote toolbar and select PREFERENCES.


2. Click on SYNC, and then enter the email address and password for your EndNote Web account. If you wish, you can choose the option to Sync Automatically.



3. Before you sync your EndNote Web account with a desktop library for the first time, you might be prompted to ‘register’ the account. You will be prompted to complete a form with additional information about you (optional).


4. You can now sync references between your EndNote desktop and EndNote Web libraries.

 

Setting up MS Word to work with EndNote Web (EndNote on desktop)


1. Open Microsoft Word and click on the EndNote tab on the ribbon.

2. To set up access to EndNote Web, click on PREFERENCES on the EndNote ribbon in Word.



3. In the dialogue box chose the APPLICATION tab and then ENDNOTE WEB from the pull down menu.


4. Enter the email address and the password for your EndNote Web account. It is important to select Remember my address and password or you will have problems when working with EndNote Web on a Library PC.



5. Click OK and wait for a connection to open between Word and EndNote Web. Note that you will need to be connected to the internet.



6. When the connection is made, the EndNote commands in the Word ribbon will change to EndNote Web commands. To return to EndNote commands, change the APPLICATION under Preferences.

Setting up MS Word to work with EndNote Web (EndNote not on desktop)

1. Log in to your EndNote Web account. If the Getting Started guide is not displayed, click on the link to SHOW GETTING STARTED GUIDE on the right hand side.



2. Click on the link for the CITE WHILE YOU WRITE PLUG-IN and follow the instructions on the website.


3. Once the plug-in is installed, the EndNote Web tab will appear on your Word toolbar.


4. Click on PREFERENCES>APPLICATIONS and enter the email address and the password of your EndNote Web account. It is important to check Remember my address and password or you may have problems when working with EndNote Web in some locations.

Setting up EndNote Desktop and Online Sync

This video from Clarivate will explain how to set up syncs between your desktop and EndNote online.   

 

 

Troubleshooting sync issues

Occasionally EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online will not Sync correctly or, you may wish to Sync a different library from the one you are currently Syncing.  

Before attempting to correct syncing problems you are experiencing make sure you have a backup of your EndNote Desktop Library
Here are some links to support for typical sync setups and issues: 

 

Advanced Troubleshooting

It is vitally important for you to back up your EndNote library.  A corrupted library could ruin your chances of getting an assignment or dissertation finished.

Multiple copies should be made and these copies should be kept in different places.

Each EndNote library consists of two parts:

File Type Function Location
Library .enl Contains all your EndNote references  
Data folder .data Contains supporting information such as terms and group structures.  It may also contain your attached files and images in the same folder as the Library file


When backing up your library it is important for you to copy both parts.  You can reconstruct an EndNote library from just the Library file, however, your organisation and attached files will be lost.

You may back up your library using Windows file management commands.

You may also back up your library by using EndNote's File > Save a Copy.  This menu command will copy both parts of your EndNote Library.

A final option is to create a Compressed Library, which combines both the .enl and .data files into a single file. To do this, go to the File menu and choose Compressed Library.

Where should I NOT save my EndNote library?

Never store an EndNote working library on any cloud service for sharing, or even just for your own use on multiple computers. This will eventually lead to library corruption because of the way the cloud services synchronize files over the Internet. Such unusable cloud services would include, but are not limited to iCloud, Dropbox,Google Drive, SharePoint, OneDrive

Also, never store a working library on a flash drive.

The reason these methods are inadvisable is that when you are working in EndNote, it is saving data to multiple files, and the data must be saved in a set sequence, as described above. When cloud services transfer that data, they may change the sequence of file saves. This eventually leads to library corruption. The library may appear to be fine for days, weeks, or even months, but will eventually be corrupted.

 

Tip

Should you accidentally delete your EndNote Library but still have its .data folder you can recover the Library:

  1. Create a blank plain text file (eg using Notepad)
  2. Name it using the Library name and give it the .enl file extension (Be sure to change the Save As Type: to All Files)
  3. When you open the .enl file with EndNote it will be a copy of the original library

See also this article from the Clarivate website!

Occasionally your Word document may display  ADDIN EN.CITE code rather than citations.

When you insert a citation into a Word document, the citation is embedded in field codes, such as:  { ADDIN EN.CITE <EndNote><Cite><Year>... or see example below…

Strange code in word


Field codes hold reference information for your formatted citations, and are typically hidden.
To hide field codes in Word:

  1. Go to File.
  2. Click on Options.

Word options

3.   Click Advanced.

Word advanced

4.Scroll to the "Show document content" section and uncheck the box titled "Show field codes instead of their values."

show document content
Click OK.

See also this article on the Clarivate website

EndNote and MacIntosh users

Differences between Windows and Mac versions for EndNote

There are only slight differences between the Windows and Mac versions of EndNote.   
If you find you need further support with using EndNote with your Mac, try these resource links: 

Using EndNote with your iPad or iPhone

EndNote for iPad and iPhone is not included with the UWA EndNote site licence, but the app can be purchased directly from the App store / iTunes 

You can synchronise your EndNote Online and Desktop library with your iPad app, add and edit references, and annotate PDFs.

You can't use Cite While You Write (CWYW) with the EndNote for iPad app.

Visit the EndNote website for EnNote for iPad FAQs and the latest EndNote for iPad updates.

 

Identified issue with use of MS Word EndNote add-in with latest Mac M1 chip computers

Apple have released their latest laptops with a new chip called the “M1 chip” or “Apple silicon”.  It’s quite different from the Intel chips that most PCs use, and so some programs don’t work well on it, as they were designed for Intel chips.

It appears EndNote is one of those programs. Clarivate are reporting that as a result a known issue is that the Word add-in might not work with upgraded Mac PC's with the M1 chip. 

This can be fixed by launching Word through an application called “Rosetta 2” which is an emulator that “translates apps built for Intel so they will run on Apple Silicon” (source)

Please see this Clarivate FAQ for help with this workaround should you experience compatibility issues with your MacIntosh computer

 

Identified issue with Mac Catalina operating system and EndNote

The latest MacIntosh update to the Catalina Operating System (Mac OS 10.15) represents a shift from 32-bit program support to 64-bit only. 

That means, that all software applications that were developed using 32 bit programs on your computer will no longer be supported, as such if you are using any of the EndNote software versions prior to X9.3 you will have difficulty doing so within MacIntosh Catalina computers. 

It also means that if you wish to share your library with other users, they will also need to upgrade their version of EndNote. 

We recommend installing or upgrading to the latest version of EndNote being version 2.10, see our Get EndNote tab for details.  

CONTENT LICENCE

 Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.