Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geospatial Information: SLIP

Info on UWA's printed maps, online interactive maps, SLIP etc

The Shared Location Information Platform - otherwise known as SLIP - is an open data platform for Western Australia. It is an open data platform for location-based information coordinated by Landgate through the WALIS partnership.  SLIP delivers data to users through services, including mapping platforms such as Locate, and OGC compliant web services that can be used through geographic information systems.

Thousands of datasets can be accessed through SLIP via a wide range of maps. Most of the data can be viewed directly by everyone through public maps. A small number of datasets are restricted for use between agencies under arrangements set out in the Western Australian Whole of Government Open Data Policy.

Some data is available only by subscription.  As a UWA student or staff member you are entitled to use the datasets to which UWA has subscribed - see UWA Packages below. To register as a UWA user and get access to the extra datasets, follow the instructions below.

SLIP - UWA Registration Process

Step 1 - Overview

This registration process specifically relates to UWA students and staff.

Registering for a SLIP account involves a number of steps which must be completed accurately and in the correct sequence.

To register for a SLIP account and get access to all resources included in UWA's subscription please follow the steps below.

Note!  Users registered on the old SLIP Enabler system will need to re-register on the new SLIP system.

 

The SLIP registration process consists of three steps:

  1. Register for a SLIP account with public access rights. This step gives you a user identity on SLIP but, only gives you the same rights as an unregistered member of the public.
  2. Activate your SLIP account. This step must be completed within 24 hours of receiving an e-mail from SLIP confirming your registration details.
  3. Apply to join the UWA users group. This will give you access to additional content available under the UWA subscription. You must use your UWA email address

    Note! There are two UWA groups, one for staff and one for students. The students' group does not include access to the Tenure data set. Students requiring access to this data set will need to apply to join the UWA Staff group. Applications to join the UWA Staff group submitted by students will need be supported by an email to staffsupport-lib@uwa.edu.au from an academic staff member approving the request. You must use your UWA email address.

Step 2 - Register for SLIP Account

The first step is aimed at setting up a general SLIP account with public access rights. 

Instructions for this can be found on the toolkit.data.wa.gov.wa site How do I create an account with SLIP access to geospatial data? 

Make sure you activate your general SLIP account before proceeding to step 4. 

  1. Open the SLIP site and click on the "Don't have a login? Register now  link at the bottom of the page
  2. Complete the registration form using the information below, note that non-UWA addresses are not accepted

  •  

 

Step 3 - Activate SLIP Account

Make sure you activate your SLIP account based on the instructions provided on the toolkit.data.wa.gov.wa site How do I create an account with SLIP access to geospatial data? 

Make sure you activate your general SLIP account before proceeding to Step 4 - Join a UWA Group

 

Step 4 - Join UWA Group

Information about how to join a user group can be found in the tookit.data.wa.gov.au SLIP - How to Join a User Group page. 

You will need to ensure you join the correct staff or student user group as per these details below: 

  1. Click on Join a User Group.
     
  2. Search for the appropriate UWA user group.
    • Students should search for University of Western Australia
    • Staff should search for UWA Staff

    Note! Students who require access to the Tenure data set may apply to join the UWA Staff group. Applications to join the UWA Staff group submitted by students will need be supported by an email to staffsupport-lib@uwa.edu.au from an academic staff member approving the request.




    Click on the check box to select either University of Western Australia or UWA Staff group
    Note! A number will now appear in the Review tab

     
  3. Click on the Review tab and check that the correct University of Western Australia group is displayed.



    Click on Submit.
     
  4. Check that you get an ID for your request.


     
  5. Check your UWA e-mail account for a message with the heading, "Organisation Request Confirmation" and open the email.


     
  6. You may now log out of SLIP and wait for your request to be approved. This normally takes a day or two.

Step 5 - Finish

  1. Check your UWA e-mail account for a message with the heading, "Organisation Request Completed" and open the email.


     
  2. Log into your SLIP account and click on Join a User group.



     
  3. Click on the My Access tab and check that the correct University of Western Australia group is included in the list of groups.

UWA Packages

Online Aerial Photography

Landgate has aerial imagery covering a large portion of Western Australia. Aerial imagery has been captured from 1948 to the present day and is available to view at no cost and to purchase online with Map Viewer Plus.

How to Use Map Viewer Plus.

Medium-Scale Topographic

Landgate's SLIP Medium-Scale Topographic map provides a whole of state view of the natural and man-made features. Feature classes include relief, transport, hydrography and cultural – man made features.

Points of Interest

​Landgate's SLIP Points of Interest map contains information relating to specific locations you will find useful for many purposes, including making and printing your own maps.

Regional Imagery

This regional Western Australia imagery provides access to all available regional imagery as separate layers dating from 1987 to 2015*. This includes the most current 1:100,000 aerial imagery tiles, regional and town site mosaics.
* Additional imagery within these periods is continually being made available and will be added to the service over time at no additional cost.

Crown Reserves

Landgate's SLIP Crown Reserves map contains information about land that is set aside in the public interest such as conservation, recreation, research and education.

Property Street Addresses

Landgate's SLIP Property Street Address map delivers the most commonly used data to correctly identify locations in Western Australia.
Land​​​gate maintains Property Street Address details in conjunction with input from Local Government agencies responsible for allocating street number for land parcels. Information is captured for both urban and rural properties.

WA Now Mosaic

This base layer imagery is a whole of State layer configured as a flattened and seamless single service. It can be used as a background in conjunction with other data services to provide a spatial reference and contains the most current 1:100,000 aerial imagery tiles, regional and town site mosaics, and six monthly refreshes of the metropolitan mosaic.

Administration Boundaries

Landgate's SLIP Administration Boundaries Map contains information relating to major administrative boundaries within Western Australia. Layers within the map include Localities, Port Authorities, Electoral Districts and Regions and Local Governments.​

Road Centreline

Landgate's SLIP Road Centreline map contains comprehensive information about all significant roads in Western Australia collated from across Landgate, Main Roads WA and the Department of Parks and Wildlife.

Large Scale Topographic

​​Landgate's SLIP Large-Scale Topographic map provides a whole of state view of the natural and man-made features with more detail than the Medium-Scale Topography map. Feature classes include relief, transport, hydrography and cultural – man made features.

Cadastre

Landgate's SLIP Cadastral map contains information relating to all land parcels (freehold and Crown land) within Western Australia. Layers within the map contain detailed information such as land parcel boundary definition (points, lines, polygons), lot numbers, survey information, boundary dimensions and areas (surveyed and unsurveyed), easements, lodged survey boundaries, unique feature identifiers and also includes historical (retired) cadastral polygons.

Tenure

The SLIP Tenure map contains information about the ownership and vesting of freehold and Crown land in Western Australia. SLIP Tenure data is gathered from Transfer of Land documents registered as part of the document registration process.

Note!

  • Tenure data is only available to members of the UWA Staff group.
  •  

CONTENT LICENCE

 Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence