Music scores and sound recordings: Sound recordings and videos
Finding sound recordings and video
Some online sound recordings can be found in OneSearch. These link to the Music Online database.
Below are links to our subscription databases for music sound recordings and videos that don't have their content indexed in OneSearch. You will need to search directly within these databases to search for individual sound recordings and videos.
CDs and LPs are listed as Sound recordings in OneSearch.
In Advanced Search you can search only sound recordings, by selecting Sound recordings from the Resource Type drop-down menu.
After you get your results list, use the Modify my results - Availability list to select Available online for online recordings, or Physical Items for CDs or LPs.
The Library has legacy equipment available on the Third Floor of the Reid Library for playing hard copies of audio and visual formats in our collection. This includes DVD/CD, Turntable and Cassette sound systems. If you require any assistance please enquire at the information desk.
Online sound recordings: subscription database
- Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. Resources include music notes, cover artwork, tracklistings, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas, more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary, guide to musical terms and work analyses.
Access is limited to 10 concurrent users.
Content from this database is not indexed in OneSearch.
Online sound recordings: web resources
- CHARMThe traditional musicological approach is to see music as a written text reproduced in performance. But much music does not exist in the form of a written text, circulating purely in the form of recordings. And even when music does exist as a written text, performers play an essential role in creating the experience that, for most people, is the music. CHARM was established to promote a musicology that better reflects the nature of music as experienced in the twentieth century and beyond.
- National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the LibraryThe Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
Online videos: subscription databases
Medici.tv
Medici.tv educational platform includes live events broadcast from the world's most prestigious venues, opera houses, festivals and competitions. Browse through dozens of master classes and hundreds of classical music documentaries and archived concerts.
(Content from this database is not indexed in OneSearch.)
Naxos Video Library
Naxos Video Library is an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.
The opera videos offer the choice of the libretto (in English or original language) to be displayed along the side the video panel, and subtitles to display at the bottom of the screen.
(Limited to 5 concurrent users.)
(Content from this database is not indexed in OneSearch.)
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs, AI generated images or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
PRV12169, Australian University