Music scores and sound recordings: Online scores
Some online scores can be found in OneSearch. These link to the Music Online database.
The Music Online database includes some in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types range from full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
Of course, no Music Library, or music database, is comprehensive, so below are some important online music score sources for scores that you won't find through OneSearch.
Online music scores
- WLSCM - Web Library of Seventeenth-Century MusicThe Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music is a service offered by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music, making available a growing catalogue of music in modern editions for scholars, performers, and students.
- International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)IMSLP believe that music should be something that is easily accessible for everyone. For this purpose they have created a music library to provide music scores free of charge to anyone with internet access, with several other projects in planning. IMSLP is also entirely collaborative, and all contributions are greatly welcomed.
- Early Music OnlineThe Early Music Online project has digitised 300 of the world’s earliest surviving volumes of printed music, using copies in the British Library, and has made these freely available online.
- Music Treasures ConsortiumThe Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.
Researchers can search or browse materials, access metadata about each item, and view digital images of the treasure via each custodial archive's Web site. - Digital Image Archive of Medieval MusicA portal to worldwide collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts.
- KernScoresA library of virtual musical scores in the Humdrum **kern data format. Total holdings: 7,866,496 notes in 108,703 files.
- MuseDataAn electronic library of classical music scores.
- Mutopia ProjectSheet music editions of classical music for free download.
Composer sites: digital archives
Image credits for composer sites
-
J.S. Bach by Elias Gottlob Haussmann [public domain], from Wikimedia Commons
-
Beethoven by Joseph Karl Stieler [public domain], from Wikimedia Commons
-
Hector Berlioz by Franck [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Johannes Brahms by Anonymous [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Aaron Copland by Cliff1066, via Flikr licensed under Creative Commons
-
Chopin by Ary Scheffer [public domain], from Wikimedia Commons
-
Handel by Thomas Hudson [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Liszt (Franz Hanfstaengi) [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
J.B. Lully by Anonymous [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Mendelssohn by Eduard Magnus [public domain], from Wikimedia Commons
-
W.A. Mozart by Anonymous [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Carl Nielsen by Anonymous [public Eduard Magnusdomain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
I. Pleyel by Anonymous [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Arnold Schoenberg by Florenka Homolka [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Franz Schubert by Wilhelm August Rieder (1796–1880) (Original is in Historisches Museum der Stadt Wien) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Robert Schumann by Joseph Kriehuber [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Johann Strauss by Anonymous [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
-
Carl Maria Von Weber by Anonymous [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs, AI generated images or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
PRV12169, Australian University