Images, videos and plans: Databases and journals
Finding and using visual media in your research and studies
Finding journal articles
There is more than just finding images, videos and plans themselves. For your assignments, you will also need to find articles about images, videos and plans, and their creators. Using OneSearch is a great place to start.
Search databases for more
Search in the following subject specific databases to find images, artists, journal articles, newspaper articles. Or go to the list of UWA Library databases to find more.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Art Full Text (EBSCOhost) Formerly Wilson Art Full Text. Indexes over 380 art periodicals and contains full text from 108 journals going back to 1997. Subjects include architecture, archaeology and the history of art, as well as crafts, costume and textiles.
- ARTstor An online repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data covering art, architecture, and a range of multidisciplinary topics. NOTE: you need to register with Artstor to save images and access full functionality.
- Australian Data Archive The Australian Data Archive (ADA) is a Core Trust Seal certified repository, based in the ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods (CSRM) at the Australian National University (ANU). ADA was established at the ANU in 1981 with a brief to provide a national service for the collection and preservation of digital data relating to social, political and economic affairs and to make these data available for further analysis.
- BHA and RILA (via Getty Research Institute) Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) are bibliographical databases of indexes and abstracts covering scholarly writing about the history of western art. In English and French.
- Communication & mass media complete Communication & Mass Media Complete provides access to journal articles in the areas of communication, mass media and related fields.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (via EBSCOhost) Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Informit e-Library : humanities & social sciences Part of the Informit database this sub-section specialises on humanities and social sciences and including media studies.
- JSTOR JSTOR provides electronic full text of complete back sets of over a thousand major journals in a range of disciplines, including social sciences, business and economics.
- Media Scan Note: Media Scan is no longer updated. Media Scan will remain available on Informit as an archive database. Media Scan is a bibliographic database featuring articles indexed from daily newspapers. Media Scan indexes the following newspapers: Sydney Morning Herald (1996-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997), West Australian (1996-1997). Contains over 177,400 records.
- Newsbank NewsBank provides comprehensive full text news coverage from across Australia. It includes local newspapers and major titles such as The Australian, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Daily Telegraph, and The Age.
- Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide (NCAW) Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide (NCAW) is a scholarly, refereed, journal where you can find articles, book reviews, and exhibition reviews on the topic of nineteenth-century art and visual culture across the globe.
- Oxford Art Online (Formerly Grove Art Online). Oxford Art Online is a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art.
- PressReader Provides access to over 200 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displaying them in their original format and layout.
- ProQuest This online serials database has more than 7,000 titles, some 3,500 in full text. Combines international, national and regional newspapers and periodicals to make a core collection in business, general reference, and news. Incorporates general reference, arts, humanities, sciences, career and technical education, computing, etc. Includes ABI/Inform global, Academic research library, ProQuest computing, Health & medical complete, ProQuest education journals, ProQuest religion, ProQuest social science journals, ProQuest public health etc. Citations from 1971 forward; full-text backfiles from 1987 forward.
- ProQuest Arts Premium Collection Allows users to conduct comprehensive literature reviews across the arts disciplines, access complementary full text, and consult extensive filmographies. The collection includes ARTBibliographies Modern (ABM), Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI), International Bibliography of Art (IBA), Arts and Humanities Full Text (A & H FT), American Film Institute Catalog (AFI), FIAF Plus, Film Index International (FII), International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP FT), and International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA FT).
- SAGE Research Methods Online SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research tool supported by a newly devised taxonomy that links content and methods terms. It provides a picture of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as editorially selected material from SAGE journals. In addition, SRMO contains content from more than 600 books, including the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences "Little Green Books" series from SAGE.
- Web of Science Access scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present).
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs, AI generated images or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
CRICOS Code: 00126G
PRV12169, Australian University
PRV12169, Australian University