Images, videos and plans: Films & TV
Finding and using visual media in your research and studies
Find foreign films and media
- SBS On Demand SBS On Demand is a free streaming service which includes over 11,000 hours of videos. Many films are in languages other than English.
- Kanopy: World Cinema Kanopy provides access to a variety of online videos, including a World Cinema collection. Scroll through the Collection to discover films from different countries/regions.
- Kanopy: Asian Studies Kanopy's Asian Studies Collection: find documentaries on Asian history, economics and business, the arts, and much more.
Streaming news
- ABC News - Just In Access ABC news videos as they come in. See ABC iView for past videos.
- SBS - Latest Bulletins and Clips Access SBS's lastest news bulletins and clips.
Introduction
Welcome to the images, videos and plans guide! In this guide you will find information resources to help you locate and use images, videos and architectural plans in your research and studies. Click on the tabs and the links to explore and unpack the resources.
Streaming Films/TV: Where to find video collections
In OneSearch, available from the Library homepage, choose Advanced search from the OneSearch toolbar. Choose "Video/Film" from the "Resource Type" drop down and enter your search term:
- ABC Archives ABC Archives provide an audiovisual history of Australian news, current affairs, documentaries, entertainment, education and sport as broadcast by the ABC
- ABC iview ABC iview is the free internet TV service of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, available within Australia. iview offers full length catch-up from the ABC’s broadcast TV channels, live streaming of ABC channels. iview is free to use.
- Australian Screen Australia’s audiovisual heritage online
- Kanopy Online video streaming service. Kanopy's collection includes thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. You can easily share films, create clips or playlists, and embed them into the course system. Search Kanopy from the search box in the left hand side column.
- Moving Image Archive Moving Image Archive contains digital movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. Their goal in digitizing these movies and putting them online is to provide easy access to a rich and fascinating core collection of archival films.
- SBS On Demand SBS On Demand is a free streaming service which offers a curated selection of premium drama, documentaries and movies from across the world. It's collection includes over 11,000 hours of video, many of which are in languages other than English.
- Vimeo Vimeo is a video-sharing and video hosting website created by a group of filmmakers in 2004. It focuses on short films and movies sold with Vimeo On Demand.
- YouTube YouTube has become a repository for clips and full-length films of all kinds, including commercial releases. Please note that some material has not been been posted legally, and this content can disappear.
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
CRICOS Code: 00126G
PRV12169, Australian University
PRV12169, Australian University