Library Information Literacy Skills Toolkit: FIND
Build your students' skills in finding quality information. These learning objects cover key information resources such as OneSearch, UWA subscribed databases, and Google Scholar alongside key techniques such as breaking down a research question and creating a search strategy to Boolean logic and more advanced searching techniques.
Key: Video Interactive Infographic Module Checklist Library guide
Using OneSearch
Introduction to OneSearch
What is OneSearch?
Signing in to OneSearch
Why sign in to OneSearch?
OneSearch Quick Search
Modify Search Results in OneSearch
Try it! Filtering OneSearch results
Saving OneSearch Filters
Finding what you need (Search Strategy)
Breaking down your assignment question
Where to find information for your assignments
How to run a search
Finding information for assignments
The search process
Try it! Find your search terms
Phrase searching
Where should I search?
Try it! Troubleshooting difficult searches
Advanced Searching
Find databases for your subject
Refining your results with punctuation
Citation Searching
Searching specific databases/platforms
Advanced Searching in Ovid Medline
Searching in EBSCO databases
Searching the IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Searching the JSTOR database
Searching in ScienceDirect
Searching in ProQuest databases
Searching the Scopus database
Searching the Web of Science database
Searching in Knovel
Using the AIHW website
Legal research skills
The Legal Research Process
Introduction to Legal Sources
Finding Case Law
Lexis+ CaseBase Citator
Try it! Test your Case Law knowledge
Finding cases from the International Court of Justice
Finding Legislation
LawNow and Legislation Citators
Try it! Test your Legislation knowledge
Finding Secondary Sources of Law: Journal Articles and Books
Finding Legal Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias
Advanced searching on Westlaw AU
Try it! Test your legal secondary sources knowledge
Finding Extrinsic Materials
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs, AI generated images or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
PRV12169, Australian University