User registration

Standards Australia requires each user to register for a Techstreet account using their University email address. Click on the Techstreet full text availability link in the Techstreet OneSearch record to begin the registration process using your UWA email address.

You must be signed into OneSearch, find the Techstreet database, register, including the corporate key displayed in the red text.

You will first be asked to fill in an online form. You will then receive an email which provides instructions on setting your unique Techstreet password.

Downloading standards

Standards Australia requires that Digital Rights Management (DRM) is enabled to secure PDFs on this platform. If you wish to download the full text PDF to a local folder you will need to open it with a PDF Reader compatible with the FileOpen plugin installed. You cannot open the downloaded file from within a browser window. If the FileOpen plug-in is not installed, the file will be blank when you open it.

Library computers have the correct software preinstalled. UWA staff can install the FileOpen plugin from the Software Centre.

Nitro PDF Pro (recommended)

Download the Standard and open it in Nitro PDF Pro.

Nitro is now compatible with FileOpen, there is no plugin required. Install Nitro, open the pdf file in Nitro PDF Pro and the plugin will automatically install the first time.

Adobe Reader

Download the FileOpen plugin

Download Adobe Reader from Adobe's website 

Saving PDF standards on your computer

Note that downloaded standards cannot be opened within a browser. Save the file to your computer (i.e. your downloads folder or desktop), and then open the PDF file with Nitro.

Standards are not viewable individually through OneSearch.

1. Sign into OneSearch, find the Techstreet database, register, including the corporate key, then conduct your search for a particular standard.

2. Search for your standard by number (e.g. AS 1170.0) or try a keyword search. The search tool looks across titles and descriptions if your keywords don’t match a document number or title.

3. In the Search Results page you can select your standard. You will also see historical versions and the amendment history of the standard.

4. From the standard page you can see an outline of Major Revisions and get a description of the standard in About This Document and View Document Versions. You can also Download the standard. 

5. Once downloaded you do need to open the file in Nitro PDF Pro.

 Nitro PDF Pro is now compatible with FileOpen, there is no plugin required. Nitro users should open the pdf file with Nitro PDF Pro and the plugin will automatically install the first time.

6. To do a new search use the search box or select Home at the top of the screen. 

 Instructions for Adobe Users

If you haven't already, download the Adobe Acrobat Reader with the FileOpen plugin.

• Students can download the FileOpen plugin from the Software Download page
• Staff can download it from the Software Centre

Right click on the downloaded file and choose Open With and select Adobe Reader:

Troubleshooting

• FileOpen and the Chrome Browser (by Techstreet support)
• FileOpen Troubleshooting FAQs (by FileOpen support) - includes how to open FileOpen protected PDFs in Chrome, Firefox and tips for Mac users.
• Make sure you have not changed the name of the file when it was saved - this can result in a blank PDF.

PDFs still not opening?

The Techstreet Help Center explains some of the common issues you may experience, including using FileOpen with Google Chrome. The Technical Support section contains further troubleshooting information.

Contact Techstreet support (02) 9161 7799 or enterprise@techstreet.com

Viewing standards

The Document Details page provides two options for viewing standards: Download or View Online.

Download -  Nitro is now compatible with FileOpen, there is no plugin required. Nitro users should open the pdf file in Nitro

View Online - This will open standard in the PDF viewer of your browser. This does not always work correctly, so we recommend the download option.

Adobe users

To save the standard without previewing it make sure you have Adobe Acrobat Reader and the FileOpen plugin installed (see the Registration and software installation tab) and click the Download button. You will then be able to choose a location on your computer to save the PDF. 

Printing standards

Australian Standards accessed via Techstreet are protected PDF files and require the following software to print downloaded PDFs:

•  Nitro Pro  
• Adobe Acrobat/Reader (Foxit Reader is also compatible)
• FileOpen (for PC and Mac)

You can print the whole document or select the relevant page numbers to print. To print a standard, click on the print icon in the tool bar. 

Note: The license allows one printout of a standard per user.

Linking to standards

It is possible to link to specific Australian Standards hosted on the Techstreet platform by copying the Document Details page's URL.

1. Search for the required standard. For example 'AS ISO 31000:2018'. Then open the search result.

2. Highlight and copy the URL from the Documents Details page and paste to the required location.

Note: the user who clicks on the link will need to be a registered UWA user of Techstreet and will also need to login in with their Techstreet credentials in order to Download or View the standard. See the Registration and Software Installation tab for details.

If you require an international standard which is listed in Techstreet with a status of 'locked' you will need to: 

1. Sign into Techstreet via Onesearch using the email address and the password you have created (see the Registration tab).

2. Search for the standard you require, using the standard number or title.

3. If you are searching inside our subscriptions and receive 'no results' click on the VIEW UNSUBSCRIBED RESULTS link.

4. Select the correct standard from the search results (click on the standard number).

5. Click the Send Add-On Request button on the bottom right. 

6. You will receive a system generated email from Techstreet. You will be notified of the outcome between 3 -5 working days of your request. 

For some standards, you may be requested to add more building blocks to the subscription. In this case, click on the "administrator" link. You will be taken to a page with contact details of the administrators. Select the first administrator at the top of the list for your request.

If you have any questions or experience any problems with the requesting process contact the Library.

Standards issued outside Australia can be searched within Techstreet but not viewed, downloaded or printed. 

A number of these standards are 'locked' unless an additional purchase is made.  If you require a locked standard which from Techstreet you will need to request it (see instructions in the Requesting standards tab). For HDR students, permission must be granted by your supervisor or lecturer before the standard is purchased and unlocked by the library.

Other sources of International standards

IEEE Standards

To search for IEEE Standards go to the IEEE Xplore database.  From the search dropdown menu select 'Standards'. Type in the root number of the standard (for example '16085') and then run the search. Standards that are available for access in the search results will have an open padlock icon next to them allowing you to download the full text PDF.

Freely available ISO standards

An extensive list of ISO standards is made freely available in accordance with ISO/IEC JTC 1 and the ISO and IEC Councils.

The list can be found at http://standards.iso.org/ittf/PubliclyAvailableStandards/index.html