Article Processing Charge (APC): A fee paid to a publisher by an author, author’s institution or funder, to make a paper open access within the published open access journal (Gold OA) or a hybrid journal.
Author Accepted Manuscript (AAM): The final, accepted version of a publication, before the publisher’s copy-editing, proof corrections, layout and typesetting. Also referred to as post-print.
CC- BY: one of the several Creative Commons Attribution Licences. CC BY permits anyone to distribute, remix, or build upon a work, even commercially, provided that they credit the rights holders for the original creation. When funders (like ARC or NHMRC) mandate a Creative Commons licence at all, this is generally the version that they require.
Creative Commons: Global organisation that offers legal tools, including Creative Commons licences, that rights holders can use to offer certain usage rights to the public, while reserving other rights.
Diamond OA: a form of gold open access in which there is no author fee (APC)
DOI: A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique identifier to identify content and provide a persistent link to its location on the internet. The publisher assigns a DOI when your article is published and made available electronically.
Embargo: A period after publication (usually between 12-48 months) imposed by publishers, during which authors or institutions are not permitted to make the full text of the articles available online. After this period has lapsed, a publisher will usually authorise deposit in an institutional or subject repository, however some restrictions may apply (like the version which can be shared: see 'Author Accepted Manuscript', 'Pre-print', and 'Version of Record').
Funder: an institute, corporation or government body that provides financial assistance for research
Gold open access: Publishers make research papers available to all immediately upon publication in peer-reviewed journals, and may apply an Article Processing Charge (APC) for this.
Green open access: The author makes a version of a peer-reviewed, published work freely available via an institutional or discipline-specific repository. Publishers stipulate the version of manuscript that can be self-archived and the length of embargo period following publication before the paper is made open access.
Hybrid Open Access: occurs when the author has paid APC charge for an individual article to be made open access in an otherwise subscription journal. This type of open access is not supported by universities in Australia and New Zealand.
Hybrid journal: A journal in which some articles are freely available (after the author may have paid an additional fee to make open access possible), while other articles within the journal are only accessible by subscription to the journal or payment to read individual articles.
Institutional Repository (IR): an online database designed to collect the intellectual output of a particular institution or university, including digital collections such as electronic theses, pre-prints, or faculty scholarship, and presents associated metadata regarding these items.
Open Access journal: a journal that exclusively comprises open access articles
ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID): a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes individual researchers and supports integration in the research workflows.
Paywall: restriction via a financial barrier to research, often implemented by legacy publishers. Can be removed by personal or institutional subscription.
Pre-print: A first draft of an article, before formal peer-review.
Pure: A research information system, used at UWA, which incorporates an institutional repository of metadata and full-text papers about research activity.
Repository: A system for storing research outputs digitally. Repositories do not perform peer-review but can host work peer-reviewed elsewhere. A repository can make the materials freely and easily accessible.
Research Portal: The front-end of Pure, available via the web, showcasing UWA’s research to the world.
Scholarly Communication: The creation, transformation, dissemination, and preservation of knowledge related to teaching, research, and scholarly endeavours; the process of academics, scholars and researchers sharing and publishing their research findings so that they are available to the wider academic community.
Self-archiving: Self-archiving is the act of the author's depositing a free copy of their peer-reviewed research article or conference proceeding online, in an institutional or subject repository, in order to provide open access to it.
Subscription: a form of business model whereby a fee is paid in order to access a product of scholarly output.
Version of work: The version of your work that you can make available via open access may be pre-print (pre peer-review, draft), author accepted manuscript (after peer review but before publisher type setting or publisher's version), or in certain cases, the publisher's final version.
Version of Record (VOR): The version published in the journal to which it was submitted. There may be earlier online versions, but these will be superseded by the revised version with either an article number of page numbers. It is normally identified by a DOI and full bibliographic reference. If an author's final draft version is made available in the Research Portal it will always provide a link to the version of record, normally via the DOI, and the bibliographic reference will be added to a coversheet attached to the author's version, so that the paper can be properly referenced, and be citable in citation databases.