Skip to main content

How to publish and disseminate research: Home

Strategic approach to publishing

Strategic publishing

Is your research project governed by an agreement?

For example:

Grant Funding Agreement - where you have been awarded grant funding and there is an associated agreement that sets out the terms and conditions of the grant.

Sponsored Research Agreement - where you are being paid by a company, government department or other institution to undertake particular research work, and there is an associated agreement that sets out the terms and conditions surrounding that research.

Research Collaboration Agreement - where you are working collaboratively with a company, government body or other institution to jointly conduct a research project or program of research and there is an associated agreement that sets out the terms and conditions of the collaboration.

Confidentiality Agreement - where you have received confidential information from a company, government department or other institution and there is an associated agreement that tells you what you can and cannot do with the information. 

Material Transfer Agreement - where you have received certain materials from a company, government department or other institution and there is an associated agreement that tells you what you can and cannot do with the material.

The terms and conditions of an agreement can impact what and when you are allowed to publish.  It is important to be aware of the agreement landscape surrounding your research so you know from the start what your responsibilities are and what you should and should not be doing.

 

Be familiar with:

The Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research

The 2018 Code replaces the 2007 Code. It has been streamlined into a principles-based document that will be supported by supplementary guidance.

The Code presents eight clear principles of responsible research and 29 key responsibilities for researchers and institutions. Of particular interest should be Responsibilities of researchers R23, R25 and R26.

 

UWA Policy on: Code of Conduct for the Responsible Practice of Research

This policy provides a framework for sound research practice. Of particular interest should be sections 5 Publication and dissemination of research findings and 6 Authorship.

Where you publish matters.  You want to share your research with the largest, most relevant audience possible for discoverability and impact.

Getting your research read and cited benefits your individual career, but also assists the whole of UWA in university rankings and ERA. These rankings are based on the quality of research papers. Equally, you need to ensure your quality papers are read by the research community! UWA's focus is to publish quality research in journals that are widely read and cited.

 

Identify relevant and quality journals to publish in, consider the following:

Relevance - Does your paper match the aim and scope of the journal?

Reputation - What are the key journals and publications in your area of research?  Where do those at the top of your field publish their work? What do you read? Which journals are included in key databases in your field?  Is your topic of local interest?  Are you an Early Career Researcher?

How do you know if a journal is trustworthy? See Think Check Submit and search the journal in Cabells scholarly analytics.

Impact factor - Which are the high impact journals in your field? For more info about journal impact, see evaluating journals from our research metrics Survival Guide.

Journal Lists and Indexes - Which journals are indexed in Web of Science, Scopus, or other big databases used in your discipline? Is the journal you are considering marked as Refereed Refereed symbol in Ulrich's directory in Ulrich's directory?

Open Access publishing - It is becoming increasing common to publish in highly ranked, peer-reviewed Open Access journals. Open Access journals can reach a wider audience than traditional paywalled journals. For more information on Open Access, why it is important and advice on how to publish your research Open Access with no or reduced costs, see UWA Open Access Toolkit.

The drafting stage gives you the opportunity to check not only the structure and content of your paper, but to make sure key matters like publisher guidelines, bylines and intellectual property have been properly considered and addressed.

 

Quality of your paper - The draft paper should be reviewed and proof-read. This includes receiving feedback on the content of your paper (including title and abstract), as well as having the paper checked for consistency and accuracy amongst the main text, references, tables and figures. Consider those around you who are best placed to review your paper – co-authors, colleagues, supervisors, mentors – and the type of feedback they are able to provide, for example a more technical review versus a grammatical check.

Instructions to authors from publishers - These are guidelines publishers expect you to follow and include instructions on how to submit the article, the format of the paper, word count, referencing style and similar matters. Investigate and follow publisher/journal style and format requirements.

Byline - It is important all papers include 'The University of Western Australia' as part of the byline. This ensures the publication is captured in the UWA Research Repository. Contact your School's or Centre's administration staff to confirm other specific requirements.  

Acknowledgements - make sure that all appropriate acknowledgements (financial, infrastructure or otherwise) have been made and to confirm with other co-authors that all necessary acknowledgments have been included.

Intellectual Property - Is the publication disclosing valuable intellectual property that is associated with or has arisen out of the research project? If confidential or proprietary information is disclosed in a publication without the consent of the owner of that information, you may be in breach of your research agreement, and you could cause wider issues for that intellectual property, including destroying it’s patentability.

Always refer back to any governing agreement (see tab Before you publish) and make sure those who need to see and approve your draft publication do so, and that you do not include any information you shouldn’t.

Questions about intellectual property? Contact the Research Commercialisation team or UWA Copyright Librarian.

Once you've published your research, what's next? Connect with community and industry to promote your research and make an impact.

Work with these areas of UWA to get started promoting your work to government, business and media.

Government & Business Social Media Traditional Media
 

Who: Innovation and Industry Engagement

What: identify and develop opportunities for external investment, partnerships and reputation-building. From faculty-specific industry engagement and entrepreneurship to consultancy, research and teaching.

Contact: https://www.uwa.edu.au/business-industry/contact-us

 

Who: UWA Media Office

What: attract journalists to your research. How to handle media attention. Tips and techniques about media interviews, including how to answer difficult questions.

Contact: david.stacey@uwa.edu.au

 

Who: UWA Media Office

What: attract journalists to your research. How to handle media attention. Tips and techniques about media interviews, including how to answer difficult questions.

Contact: david.stacey@uwa.edu.au

 

Who: Office of Research Enterprise - Research Impact

What: better engage with industry and other end users; build advocacy with funders and the general public.

Contact: https://researchimpact.uwa.edu.au/contact-us/

 

Who: Office of Research Enterprise - Research Impact

What: improve understanding of how research contributes to the community.

Contact: https://researchimpact.uwa.edu.au/contact-us/

 

Who: The Conversation

What: share your research expertise with readers of one of Australia's leading independent news media outlets.

Contact: https://theconversation.com/au/contact-us

 

Who: Innovation Quarter - IQX

What: create impact through enterprise and forge links between the University, industry and community.

Contact: uwaiq@uwa.edu.au

 

Who: Brand, Marketing and Recruitment

What: develop faculty-specific marketing and digital content, engage with the community.

Contact: marketing@uwa.edu.au

   
 

Who: UWA Public Policy Institute

What: maximise UWA's contribution to policy impact, shape and inform good public policy and community outcomes.

Contact: uwappi@uwa.edu.au

       

Research Impact Toolkit 
Visit the Research Impact Toolkit for detailed information about research impact principles and framework, including a useful research impact pathway table which provides examples from the research pipeline and indicates where they would normally sit on the pathway to impact (that is, input, activities, outputs, outcomes & benefits). Select the Communicate section to view a range of valuable activities for communicating your research.

UWA Research Impact Toolkit webpage 

Broad impact
The Australian Research Council’s definition of Research Impact is: “the demonstrable contribution that research makes to the economy, society, culture, national security, public policy or services, health, the environment, or quality of life, beyond contributions to academia” 

Knowledge transfer and research impact are priorities for The University of Western Australia as our goal is to serve our stakeholders and communities.

Academic impact through high quality publications and presentations at national and international conferences is essential, but think about impact beyond academia and possible interactions with non-academic users and beneficiaries of your research through events such as industry showcases, public awareness campaigns, or stakeholder and community engagement activities.

UWA Research Impact Grants
To help you make the most of your research and gain that much needed impact, consider your eligibility for funding under the UWA Research Impact Grants scheme.
This internal scheme provides funding that can be used to support activities which include presenting at a conference, socialising research via various networks, publication costs, teaching relief to write a research journal article or other research publication with likely high impact, workshop and event costs, and media and public awareness activities.

Submit your research impact story
At UWA we are passionate about telling impact stories, so if your UWA research has impact then the Research Impact Office would love to hear from you.

Research Impact Story MRI measurement of Liver Iron Concentration

For more information, see the Library's guide to Keeping your research current or these 10 tips for promoting your research online.

Measure the impact of your published research - including citation counts, altmetrics, media coverage, impact or influence the research has had on your discipline.  

For more information see the UWA Library Guide to Measuring Research Impact

Sharing and storing your research

The UWA Research Repository provides an open access platform to capture, store, index and distribute globally a wide range of research outputs produced by the University's researchers and postgraduate students.  It contains peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, conference papers, datasets and creative works.

Research staff at UWA can login to the Research Repository to manage their research publications and add researcher datasets.

For help with your research data see the UWA Library Guide to Research Data Management

ISBNs

What is an ISBN?
International Standard Book Numbers (ISBNs) are identifiers for books or book-like products.  The UWA Library has been assigned a block of ISBNs by ISBN Australia for allocation to items published within UWA, by staff of the University.

How to apply for an ISBN?
To apply for an ISBN please email help-repository@uwa.edu.au.

13-digit format
From 1 January 2007 all ISBNs must conform to the new 13-digit format. When existing publications that have a 10-digit ISBN are reprinted, they are required to use the corresponding 13-digit format of their origintal ISBN.  Note, this is not a new ISBN, but the same ISBN with a prefix (978) added and a revised final checking digit.  To obtain the 13-digit format for an ISBN which you were allocated prior to 2007, email help-repository@uwa.edu.au  with your original ISBN.

Legal deposit
Items published within UWA are required by law to be deposited with the following collections:

DOIs

What is a DOI?
Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) are unique and persistent identifiers for digital research objects such as datasets, software and grey literature including thesis.  They also enable citation and tracking of citation metrics.  The University Library currently mints DOIs through the Australian Research Data Commons (ARDC) minting service for research datasets and grey literature which have the UWA Profiles and Research Repository as the primary publisher.  All DOIs will resolve back to the UWA Profiles and Research Repository record page.

How to apply for a DOI?

  • Datasets: You must load your dataset to the UWA Profiles and Research Repository.  Once you have submitted the record, the DOI will be minted as part of the approval process.
  • Reports: You must first upload your report to the UWA Profiles and Research Repository.  Once complete, email  help-repository@uwa.edu.au to apply for a DOI.
  • Theses: Theses will get a DOI as part of the publication approval process in the UWA Profiles and Research Repository.  More information on these can be found here.

ISSNs
The Library does not allocate ISSNs.  The Australian ISSN Agency provides information and application procedures for an ISSN.

Workskop in The Circle in Reid Library

The University Library offers a regular program of workshops aimed at higher degree research students and early career researchers (though anyone can attend).

Workshops are delivered by experienced librarians and provide guidance in relation to information and data discovery and management, copyright, publishing, and engagement with research outputs.

HDR and Researcher workshops

 

Contacts

Research Development Office for your Faculty:

http://www.rdi.uwa.edu.au/rdo/contact-us

http://www.research.uwa.edu.au/staff/contact/ore


UWA Copyright Librarian

copyright-lib@uwa.edu.au

Contact a Librarian

Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Education

ablelibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au

Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences

emslibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au

Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

hmslibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au

Faculty of Science    

scilibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au    

School of Indigenous Studies

ablelibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au

For further contact information visit the UWA Library Contact us page.