Legal research guide: Secondary sources: Journals / Databases
You can search for articles in many different places. But don't just rely on Google Scholar and the internet! At UWA you have access to a range of Legal Databases! Keep scrolling to find out where you can go to find articles!
For a full list of Databases go to OneSearch > Databases:
Click here for a list of Law specific databases.
Check out the OneSearch Guide for more search tips.
Below you will find a list of the best databases for finding journal articles in Law.
- Lexis+Includes full-text legal materials including case law, legislation and journal articles for Australia, the US, UK, EU, Canada & other international jurisdictions.
- Westlaw AUCore resource for Australian law. Includes cases, legislation, journal articles, commentary and online services.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (a subset of Hein Online)For law of countries other than US & UK. Published by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London in co-operation with the American Association of Law Libraries. Hosted on Hein Online.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (1981+)Published in cooperation with the American Association of Law Libraries. Coverage dates: Indexing 1981+, Abstracting 1990+, “select” Full Text 1995+
- Thomson Reuters WestlawA database of full-text legal materials including case law, legislation and journal articles for the US, UK, EU, Canada and other international jurisdictions. It is an excellent resource for any international or comparative legal research. Includes the UK Law Reports series.
- Kluwer Law InternationalJournals > Advanced Search
Full text of journals from Kluwer Law International, a publisher of over 50 English language international law journals. Includes searchable tables of contents and abstracts. - JSTORJSTOR provides electronic full text of complete back sets of over a thousand major journals in a range of disciplines, including social sciences, business and economics.
- ProQuestThis is a large multidisciplinary database with more than 60% of the titles in full text. It Indexes journal articles, magazine articles and newspapers, and combines international, national and regional newspapers and periodicals to make a core collection in business, general reference, and news. It is also very easy to search!
- Australasian Legal Scholarship LibraryFull text for 50+ academic law journals from Australia and New Zealand. Free on the web! Brought to you by AustLII
- Law ArchiveThis archive was launched in 2024 by the Lillian Goldman Law Library (Yale Law School) in collaboration with the Center for Open Science.
Please note: Content in some Legal databases is NOT indexed OneSearch!
OneSearch is NOT able to search within these key legal databases:
This means to find certain legal content like cases, journal articles, or other materials within these Databases, you will need to access the Databases directly using OneSearch and then search for the content you need in the respective Database. We have provided links to most of the Law Databases in various Law Guides. You can also search for specific Databases by title in OneSearch. You can also find links to Databases using our Databases page.
Setting up Google Scholar
Activate FindIt@UWA links in Google Scholar to access the UWA full text version of articles. Once activated, you will see FindIt@UWA links - click these and the online, UWA databases will be searched for you. For more information please have a look at our Google Scholar Guide.
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs, AI generated images or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
PRV12169, Australian University