Indigenous Information Sources: Databases
The benefits of searching subject-specific and specialist databases and an introduction to sources related to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People and/or primary sources.
Databases and OneSearch
OneSearch is the best place to start searching for journal articles, book chapters, newspaper articles and videos.
OneSearch results for online articles, books and videos, etc. provide links that go to databases in which the full text or videos are hosted.
Think of a database as a collection of online journal articles and resources for which the library pays a subscription for you to access.
You can also search directly within a database.
Why search in a database as well as OneSearch?
- Subject-specific databases can give you more targeted results relevant to your search topic.
- Many databases have more nuanced search options.
- Some databases don't have their resources discoverable in OneSearch.
Go to the Find databases page to browse through a list of subject-specific databases.
Types of databases
Some databases provide good full-text coverage allowing you to link directly to the full article or book within the database platform.
Others are indexing databases - they help to you to find information through the indexing only of titles and abstracts and will generally link you directly to a "Find It@UWA" link button to help you to identify where you can get full-text online or print access.
Take a look at our Databases sections in the next tabs for a selected list of databases useful for Indigenous Australian research.
For tips on important databases and web sources on Indigenous Health, see our Indigenous health resources page.
The UWA Library subscribes to a number of quality databases specifically focused on Indigenous culture and issues.
The Informit database hosts distinct 'collections' within its of Indigenous Peoples subject area. For example:
- APAIS-ATSISThis subset indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material that specifically relates to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the social sciences and humanities area, including history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture.
- FAMILY-ATSIS. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subsetFAMILY-ATSIS is a subset of the FAMILY database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. It contains records that specifically related to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
TIP: Click on the 'i' information icon to learn about the subject coverage of a specific database.
NOTE: The majority of these databases are indexing databases, not full text. Look for the full-text icon link to find these in OneSearch. 
For some Indigenous Studies units, you will be required to include primary sources in your assignments.
Primary sources are the original document, object or data that you are investigating. (Secondary sources are the interpretation, analysis or commentary about a primary source.)
Our General web resources page in this guide also provides links to peak Indigenous organisations, government sites, libraries and archives that offer primary source materials.
For historical primary sources, take a look at our Sources for historical research guide and our Historical News guide.
- Empire onlineThis resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology. Includes documents and diaries of early contact with Indigenous Australians.
- BlackWords: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers and StorytellersPart of AUSTLIT: the Australian literature resource database, Blackwords researches and records a diverse range information about the lives and works of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and storytellers and the literary cultures and traditions that formed and influenced them.
It is the most comprehensive record of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander publications available. It covers all forms of creative writing, film, television, criticism and scholarship, both by and about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and literary cultures. - KanopyProvides access to online videos covering a variety of subjects, including a dedicated Indigenous Australian category of films and documentaries.
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
PRV12169, Australian University