Authors may use a variety of terms to describe the same thing.  For instance, one may refer to a car, another to a motor vehicle and another to an automobile.  Yet they are all talking about the same thing.

Computers will only search for the term you enter.  If you search for car you will not find articles about motor vehicles or automobiles.

For each of your key terms, limiting terms and excluding terms you need to identify any synonyms or related terms.

Tertiary sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri are excellent sources for synonyms and related terms.

The Library has an extensive collection of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.

These can be useful in identifying terminology and synonyms. 

These can be found by entering your subject into OneSearch and adding dictionaries or encyclopedias to your search.

The Library has some databases of dictionaries, encyclopedia and thesauri which can be consulted online.

Many disciplines have developed specialised lists of subject terms which are assigned to each resource in a database to describe it's contet, these subject terms can be searched through the database thesauri.  These give not only the preferred term but also synonyms and related terms.

Searching assigned subject terms can provide more precise and effecting seaching then possible through the use of keywords alone. 

Databases, including MEDLINE, EMBASE, PsycINFO and CINAHL Complete can be searched using standardised subject headings, also known as 'controlled vocabulary'.

Both  MEDLINE and PubMed for instance use MeSH - the Medical Subject Headings.  Other databases have their own subject headings. 

It is advisable to ensure a comprehensive search strategy by utilising both subject headings and keywords.

Click on the logo to see how this works in:

Other Thesauri

Some other examples of thesauri include:

×

Using MESH in MEDLINE

1. Use the Advanced Search option to search for one concept at a time, ensuring the Map Term to Subject Heading box is ticked (these are both default settings in the UWA subscription).
   
   
    
2. Then select the appropriate subject heading from the list presented. You can click on the Subject Heading to see broader or narrower terms. Click on the Scope information icon to see the scope/definition of the subject heading if you are unsure whether it is appropriate.
   If no appropriate subject heading is presented, you can choose to search by keyword only, or go back and try again with another term.
   
    

   Note: You can select to Explode and/or Focus your results.

   • Exploding a subject heading from the Mapping Display lets you retrieve results that contain the subject heading in combination with all of its narrower, more specific subheadings. Subheadings provide a broader scope of interpretation for the subject heading.
   • Focusing retrieves results in which your subject heading is considered the major topic when you focus on a subject heading term from the Mapping Display.
   
    
3. Finally, you will be presented with sub-headings for this Subject Heading. In most cases it isn't advisable to use these in a systematic review situation, click Continue.
   
   
    

Your subject heading search will appear in the Search History box.

Click on the cross at the top to close

 

Wikipedia can be a great source especially for the scientific names of plants and animals.