Please read: Benefits of making your NTRO available online.

UWA researchers can optionally make their NTROs available online through UWA Collected. In order to make your NTRO available online, please review the copyright considerations and ensure you complete the submission checklist. To make your NTRO available online:

1. If any aspect of your NTRO contains third-party material, obtain written permission as per the steps outlined in the third-party copyright material section below.
2. Complete the NTRO submission checklist. Note that you can electronically sign or type your name into the checklist, rather than print and scan it.
3. Add the 'Request Open Access Processing' tag to the record in the Repository. Click on Add Request Open Access Processing and then on Request Open Access Processing again. When you Save your NTRO record, this request will be sent to Library staff.

   

4. Upload the completed submission checklist and any copyright permission forms (if applicable) to the NTRO record in the "Other files" field:

   

Alternatively, you can email the submission checklist and completed copyright permission form/s to help-repository@uwa.edu.au, ensuring you include the title of your Non-Traditional Research Output in the subject line and body of the email.

Following audit, a Library staff member will be in contact with you regarding the next steps in the process of making your NTRO available online. The digital assets/files will be made available through UWA Collected, the University of Western Australia’s digital asset management and preservation system. UWA Collected stores, manages, preserves and makes available digital collections to ensure the security and longevity of University collections and share these with students, staff and the general public.

Library staff will create a link on the repository record to the files in UWA Collected as soon as they are uploaded into that system.

NTROs that cannot be made available online – due to copyright, privacy, Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP), or other restrictions – will not be uploaded to UWA Collected. The record of the NTRO will still be available in the UWA Profiles and Research Repository.

Some NTROs may contain third-party copyright material – e.g. music captured as part of a live performance, or photos or illustrations included in a creative work. If your research output contains material that you did not create, you will need to seek permission from the other copyright owner/s before you can make your work available online in UWA Collected.

Permission requests must be in writing; the copyright owner may provide an online form, or you may need to contact them via email. Ensure your permission request includes:

• Your name, role at UWA (e.g. researcher, student), and details of your NTRO (title, format etc.)
• Details of how the material is used in your NTRO.
• A copyright permission form, with the “Details of Work” section completed.

Ensure you save signed copies of the copyright permission forms as you will need to provide these to the Library as part of the submission process.

TIP! If you need to obtain permission for multiple copyright holders, you may wish to keep track of the permission requests in a copyright permissions register.

If you are unable to obtain permission for third party copyright material but still wish to make your NTRO available in UWA Collected, you will need to create a version of your NTRO that does not include the material. For example, a video of a performance could be edited to contain only works for which you have permission to publish, or which are in the public domain.

You are responsible for identifying any Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP) contained within your research output and ensuring appropriate community engagement, consultation, and consent has been obtained as outlined in the AIASTIS Code of Ethics.

In addition to copyright, there may be privacy considerations in relation to your NTRO.

For example, if your NTRO contains photographs of people, did the people sign a talent release form? Were they made aware that the photograph/s would be openly available online? If the answer to either of these questions is “no”, you will need to contact the individuals to seek their consent and/or remove the photograph from your resource.

You are responsible for notifying UWA Library of content advice for sensitive material that may need to be applied to your research output. There is a field in the submission checklist where you can notify the Library of sensitive content. 

When you are ready to submit your NTRO to the UWA Library, you will be required to complete the submission checklist and, as part of this, you will be asked to select a copyright statement for your work. 

You can choose an all rights reserved - “In Copyright” - statement but still make your work available online. You can choose whether to make your research output view only or downloadable, and users will need to seek your permission to reproduce, adapt or make any of use of your work that is not permitted under the Copyright Act 1968.

For example, issues of the UWA Student Magazine The Pelican are available to view and download in UWA Collected but are “In Copyright”. The following copyright statement appears alongside the digital file in UWA Collected:

See: The Pelican, Vol. 40, no. 10 (July 23 1969). UWA Collected, accessed 01/04/2025, https://collected.uwa.edu.au/nodes/view/1498

This option should be selected if your research output contains third party copyright material and a copyright permission form has been signed by the copyright owner/s of that material.

If you are the sole creator and copyright owner of all the content contained within your NTRO, you may opt to select a Creative Commons licence. For example, this document in UWA Collected is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives licence, and the following rights statement appears:

Which Creative Commons licence should I choose?

The UWA Research Integrity Policy encourages the use of the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) licence; see section 10(B)(9): "Researchers will - make publications available on Open Access under the most appropriate Creative Commons licence, and preferably the CC BY licence."

Regardless of which licence is selected, the creator retains copyright of the research output.

For more guidance on selecting a Creative Commons licence for your NTRO, see the University Library’s Open Access Toolkit.

Creative Commons and third-party copyright material

If you wish to apply a Creative Commons licence to your NTRO, and your research output contains third party copyright material, you will first need to obtain a sublicence from the copyright owner. Please contact the Senior Librarian (Copyright) to discuss sublicensing requirements.