Legal research guide: Secondary sources: Journals / Databases
Learn how to develop an effective search strategy and then use it to locate relevant secondary sources to support your research for law assignments.
Best databases for finding journal articles in Law
For a full list of databases go to OneSearch > Databases:
Check out the OneSearch Guide for more search tips.
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text legal materials including case law, legislation and journal articles for Australia, the US, UK, EU, Canada & other international jurisdictions.
- Westlaw AUCore resource for Australian law. Includes cases, legislation, journal articles, commentary and online services.
- Hein Online This link opens in a new window(Go to Law Journal Library)
Full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. - Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (a subset of Hein Online) This link opens in a new windowFor law of countries other than US & UK. Published by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London in co-operation with the American Association of Law Libraries. Hosted on Hein Online.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (1981+) This link opens in a new windowPublished in cooperation with the American Association of Law Libraries. Coverage dates: Indexing 1981+, Abstracting 1990+, “select” Full Text 1995+
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Retrospective (1908-1981) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Complements ILP.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new windowA database of full-text legal materials including case law, legislation and journal articles for the US, UK, EU, Canada and other international jurisdictions. It is an excellent resource for any international or comparative legal research. Includes the UK Law Reports series.
- Kluwer Law International This link opens in a new windowJournals > Advanced Search
Full text of journals from Kluwer Law International, a publisher of over 50 English language international law journals. Includes searchable tables of contents and abstracts.
- JSTORJSTOR provides electronic full text of complete back sets of over a thousand major journals in a range of disciplines, including social sciences, business and economics.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThis is a large multidisciplinary database with more than 60% of the titles in full text. It Indexes journal articles, magazine articles and newspapers, and combines international, national and regional newspapers and periodicals to make a core collection in business, general reference, and news. It is also very easy to search!
- EBSCO Megafile Premier This link opens in a new windowLarge multidisciplinary database. Includes Business Source Complete, which is useful for company and commercial law topics.
- Australasian Legal Scholarship LibraryFull text for 50+ academic law journals from Australia and New Zealand. Free on the web! Brought to you by AustLII
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Legal databases NOT in OneSearch
Note that OneSearch is NOT able to search within the key legal databases
To find cases, journal articles, or other materials within these databases, you will need to access the databases directly. You can find links to them in OneSearch or on the Law subject guide pages.
Setting up Google Scholar
Activate FindIt@UWA links in Google Scholar to access the UWA full text version of articles. Once activated, you will see FindIt@UWA links - click these and the online, UWA databases will be searched for you.
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.