It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The UWA Library subscribes to a range of historical newspaper databases. Search for the publication title in OneSearch or follow the steps on the Current News tab to browse the list of newspaper databases.
Some of the English language historical newspaper databases available through OneSearch are listed below. Note that this list is not exhaustive - search OneSearch for additional resources.
Tip! To find archival editions of individual newspaper titles - like The Observer, Pravda, The Sydney Morning Herald, The New York Times etc. - simply search for the newspaper title in OneSearch.
17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapersThis link opens in a new windowThe now fully text-searchable newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
The present digital collection, totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden.
19th Century British Library NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowThis database features British newspapers from the 19th century selected by the British Library's editorial board. It contains the full text/full images of 70 national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers. Many of the newspapers are available in complete runs.
• 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. This collection complements the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2009This link opens in a new windowThis delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2009. New full-colour images and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week are provided.
Contains full text of some or all articles. This provides access to older rather than current resources. Contains pictures, photographs or digitised pages of text/manuscripts, newspapers & magazines.
Times Digital Archive (Gale NewsVault)This link opens in a new windowGale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale's range of historical newspaper collections. Users can simultaneously search or browse across the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, the Financial Times Historical Archive and many more.
Contains full text of some or all articles. This provides access to older rather than current resources. Contains pictures, photographs or digitised pages of text/manuscripts.Content has focus on Britain and/or the British Empire and Commonwealth.
The UWA Library subscribes to a range of foreign language historical newspaper databases. Search by the publication title or follow the steps on the Current News tab to browse the list of newspaper databases.
Some of the foreign language historical newspapers available through OneSearch are listed below. Note that this list is not exhaustive - search OneSearch for additional resources.
Tip! A lot of historical newspapers are freely available through Google. For example, Euopeana Newspapers contains a huge collection of freely available European historical newspapers.
Emeroteca Digitale, L'This link opens in a new windowProvides access to images of over 860 Italian historical, including scholarly, periodicals and regional newspapers from the 19th Century and 20th Century. Some of the periodicals are fully searchable, but others, such as the newspapers, may only be searched by issue and date. Requires the free DjVu plug-in to view images.
Gallica la bibliothèque numèriqueThis link opens in a new windowThe Gallica Digital Library from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France provides free access to thousands of digital books as well as 18th and 19th century journals and newspapers.
Stampa, LaThis link opens in a new windowLa Stampa is an influential Italian daily newspaper published in Turin.