Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music scores and sound recordings: Sound recordings and videos

This guide contains tips to finding music scores and sound recordings.

Finding sound recordings and video

Some online sound recordings can be found in OneSearch. These link to the Music Online database. 

Below are links to our subscription databases for music sound recordings and videos that don't have their content indexed in OneSearch.  You will need to search directly within these databases to search for individual sound recordings and videos.  

CDs and LPs are listed as Sound recordings in OneSearch.

In Advanced Search you can search only sound recordings, by selecting Sound recordings from the Resource Type drop-down menu.

Advanced search for sound recordings

 

After you get your results list, use the Refine my Results list to select Available Online for online recordings, or Physical Items for CDs or LPs.

If you did your search in the Simple search box, you can use the Refine my Results - Resource Type to select Sound recordings.

The Library has legacy equipment available on the Third Floor of the Reid Library for playing hard copies of audio and visual formats in our collection. This includes DVD/CD, Turntable and Cassette sound systems. If you require any assistance please enquire at the information desk.

Online sound recordings: subscription database

Online sound recordings: web resources

Online videos: subscription databases

Medici.tv

Medici.tv educational platform includes live events broadcast from the world's most prestigious venues, opera houses, festivals and competitions. Browse through dozens of master classes and hundreds of classical music documentaries and archived concerts. 

medici.tv edu

(Content from this database is not indexed in OneSearch.)

Naxos Video Library

Naxos Video Library is an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

The opera videos offer the choice of the libretto (in English or original language) to be displayed along the side the video panel, and subtitles to display at the bottom of the screen.

(Limited to 5 concurrent users.)
(Content from this database is not indexed in OneSearch.)

CONTENT LICENCE

 Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.