When looking for company and industry information, start by asking:
What kind of data or information are you looking for?
Then you can start to determine where to find it:
For a full list of Australian company and industry databases subscribed to by UWA, see the databases subject list in OneSearch: 'Australian company and industry'
See these short videos for tips on using Australian company and industry databases:
Premier research tool for ASX company data. Comprehensive data on all companies listed on ASX as well as companies delisted since 1990. The database is updated daily from announcements lodged at the ASX and includes corporate details, full dividend history, operational history, financial and annual reports in PDF format back to 1998 and company announcements. Includes reports, announcements, company histories, shareholdings, company profiles, takeovers and financial data.
Business Source Ultimate is a definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Ultimate contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. This is in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals
In-depth business information and analysis on Australia's leading 50,000 private and public companies.
For detailed West Australian company and industry data and news use Business News IQ.
The Australian Bureau of Statistics also provides data and analysis on Australian industry as a whole, as well as specifically in the areas of Agriculture, Building and Construction, Energy, Mining, Retail, Technology and Tourism and Transport.
For a full list of international company and industry databases subscribed to by UWA, see the databases subject list in OneSearch: 'International company and industry'. See also the Bloomberg and Eikon with Datastream information in this guide.
See these short videos for tips on using international company and industry databases:
Mergent online provides information on over 11,000 companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges updated daily, information on over 12,000 international companies, domestic and international annual reports, real-time access to SEC (EDGAR) filings dating back to 1993, "as-reported" financial statements providing review of balance sheets, income statements, expenditures, assets, liabilities, cash flow, performance trends, etc
Business Source Ultimate is a definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content, and also company profiles.
For Company profiles: select 'More' from the taskbar at the top and choose Company Profile
For Industry profiles: enter a keyword (e.g. telecommunications) or and industry code; then under 'Source types' on the left side bar menu choose Industry Profiles.
Passport contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.
For tips and instruction on using Passport see this video 'Passport: Getting started'.
Data about private companies is variable as they are not covered by the same regulatory disclosure framework as public companies. See below for some suggestions for finding information on private companies.
For public companies the company's own website is often a good source of information.
Good sources of information on 'not for profit' companies include individual websites, the Centre for Social Impact web site and newspaper and journal articles. A guide to Newspapers and news sources is available.
For general public announcements on company activity:
Many databases and websites allow you to search by industry code or classification. Common codes are: