Skip to main content

Patents, Standards and Codes: Patents

Patents, Standards and Codes

 

Banner image source: Pixabay 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 licensed under a CC0 Public Domain licence.

Contact for support

Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Education

ablelibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au

Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences

emslibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au

Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

hmslibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au

Faculty of Science    

scilibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au    

School of Indigenous Studies

ablelibrarians-lib@uwa.edu.au

For further contact information visit the UWA Library Contact us page.

Patents

A patent is an exclusive right granted for an invention. In other words, a patent is an exclusive right to a product or a process that generally provides a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. To get a patent, technical information about the invention must be disclosed to the public in a patent application.

World Intellectual Property Organisation

Patents may be granted for inventions in any field of technology, from an everyday kitchen utensil to a nanotechnology chip. An invention can be a product – such as a chemical compound, or a process, for example – or a process for producing a specific chemical compound. Many products in fact contain a number of inventions. For example, a laptop computer can involve hundreds of inventions, working together.

World Intellectual Property Organisation

According to IP Australia you cannot patent:

  • Human beings or the biological process for their generation
  • artistic creation
  • mathematical models
  • plans, schemes or other mental processes
  • Inventions with military aspects

IP Australia

How to find patents

AusPat - IP Australia

Search for Australian patents, trademarks and designs, records go back to 1979.

PAFT – United States Patent and Trademark Office

Search for full text US patent documents. Patents issued before 1976 can only be searched for by patent number, issue date, and current US classifications.

CNIPA - National Intellectual Property Administration, China
Search for full text Chinese patents, records go back to 1980's.

Espacenet - European Patent Office

Search for full-text images of worldwide patent documents. 

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

Search WIPO's Patentscope database for International patent collections.

Patent Lens

You can use the Patent Lens to search  the full-text of over 8 million patents and applications.  Data is updated weekly with bulk data obtained through subscriptions with WIPO, USPTO, EPO and IP Australia. Over the last year PCT, US, EPO and Australian coverage has been expanded to include all classifications.

Google Patents

Using the familiar Google search interface you can search the US Patent and Trademark Office database.

Patentscope

The Patentscope Search Service enables you to do full-text search in over 1.6 million published international patent applications from the first publication in 1978.

Key library databases with search limits for patents:

 

SciFinder Scholar

Patents from selected categories and selected countries are indexed within two days of issue.  To search for patents:

  • Click on Analyse/Refine on the results page
  • Click on Refine
  • Click on Document Type
  • Check Patent box

Compendex

Covers US patents issued before 1970.  To search for patents set the Document type to Patents (before 1970).

Inspec

Covers US patents issued before 1977.  To search for patents set the Document type to Patents (before 1977).