Skip to main content

Open Access Toolkit: FAQ

General Open Access Questions

How do I fulfill my Mandated OA requirements without paying a fee?

Even if you don't publish with an Open Access journal (OA), most journals will permit you to self-archive a pre-print (submitted manuscript) or post-print into the UWA Profiles and Research repository see 'which version can I deposit into the UWA Profiles and Research Repository' for more information.

I'm worried that if I publish my thesis in the UWA Profiles and Research Repository, I won't be able to publish it anywhere else, what can I do?

Detailed information regarding depositing your thesis in the UWA repository can be found in the Copyright and Higher Degree Theses guide under 'Depositing your thesis in the UWA Profiles and Research Repository'. For further advice contact the eResearch Support. 

Can I receive a discount to publish OA because I'm a UWA researcher?

UWA currently subsidizes publishing in a number of key OA services. See the 'Publish Open Access at a reduced rate' for more information. Eligible UWA authors are also invited to access UWA Library APC Fund to cover the cost of publishing in the Gold Open Access journal.  

What do I need to consider when using 3rd party open access data? 

'Open Data' details OA data rules and provides links to relevant sections of the 'Research Data Management Toolkit'. For further advice contact the eResearch Support .

Where can I find a list of OA journals to which I might apply?

'Open Access journals' contains details of OA directories and journals.

What is the difference between an institutional repository and subject/discipline repository? Where should I self-archive my research?

An institutional repository contains scholarship emanating from one institution. A subject/discipline repository may contain scholarship from all over the world relating to one subject/discipline. Ideally, your research would be in both places. See 'Institutional and Subject repositories' for more information.

 How do I know if an OA journal is of good quality and properly peer reviewed? 

OA journals vary in quality just as traditional journals do and you need to assess them in the same way. If you are unsure about a journal the tab on 'Predatory publishers' may be useful.

 I received a "take down" notice from a publisher. What do I do? 

Don't panic. Publishers may only permit you to make certain forms of your publication OA, or only after a certain period of time. But some publishers may not permit any version to be made available OA at any time. At SHERPA/ROMEO you can look up the OA policy of the publisher with whom you have published the article. We suggest you also go to your publishers web page to check for any recent updates to their policy. Generally you need only exchange the version you have currently made available for another (such as a pre or post print version). If you always follow the open access compliance decision trees you should not receive takedown notices. 

How can I retain my rights when I publish?

As an author you can legally negotiate your agreement with your publisher. The SPARC Author Addendum is a legal instrument that modifies the publisher’s agreement and allows you to keep key rights to your articles.

ARC, NHMRC & the UWA Profiles and Research Repository

Will my existing publications from an ARC /NHMRC grant already be in the repository?

To comply with the ARC Open Access Policy and the NHMRC Open Access Policy, Library staff are currently processing ARC and NHMRC funded  publications to make them available in the UWA Profiles and Research Repository.

This involves contacting the Chief Investigator for a copy of the Author Accepted Manuscript (AAM) version of the journal article, conference paper, book or a book chapter, and making it available in the Repository subject to publisher conditions. If we cannot confirm who is the Chief Investigator then we will contact the first UWA author and the corresponding author.

Please note: we cannot guarantee that all publications processed will be openly accessible in the repository as some publishers do not allow the depositing of articles in a repository or linking to the full text. In that instance we make this clear on the repository record for that article.

Please note: this processing relates to peer-reviewed journal articles and peer-reviewed conference papers accepted for publication after 1st July 2012 as per the NHMRC Open Access Policy, and all research outputs (except research data and research data outputs) from ARC projects funded under Funding Rules and Agreements released after 1st January 2013 as per the ARC Open Access Policy.

Are my other publications in the Repository?

Publications that are indexed in Scopus or Web of Science, and where an author's byline includes The University of Western Australia, will be automatically imported into the Repository weekly. UWA authors can also add any missing publications to the Repository at any time throughout the year.

How can I check that my publications are there?

The Repository contains profiles for current UWA research staff and other staff who have authored an ERA or UWA research publication. The profiles contain contact information as well as a list of the publications for that researcher in the repository.  Please log in to the repository to check if all of your publications are included. Quarterly reminders will be sent to researchers requesting that they check their Academic Profiles and add missing publications. Authors will need to pay particular attention to publications that are not indexed by major databases. If you can't find your profile in the repository please contact the Repository team at repository-lib@uwa.edu.au and they can assist you.

How can my publication metadata or the full text of my publications prior to 2011 to be added to the repository?

UWA authors can add any missing publications at any time throughout the year. Comprehensive  instructions for “Adding publication details to the Repository” are available here. Authors can also contact their faculty's Senior Librarian or email repository-lib@uwa.edu.au if they require further assistance.      

Who can I contact for information?

You can contact email the repository team for further information and support.