Legal research guide: Public Law: Case Law
Find legislation, case law, key journals and databases, and tips on keeping your research current, in the area of Australian Public Law.
Key Law Reports
- Commonwealth Law ReportsOfficial reporter for cases from the High Court of Australia
- Administrative Law DecisionsReports of decisions from the Administrative Appeals Tribunal
- Federal Court ReportsOfficial reporter for cases from the Federal Court
- Federal Law ReportsReports of cases decided by Federal Courts other than the High Court
Find Australian cases
- Cardiff Index to Legal AbbreviationsSearch for abbreviations found in legal citations to find the full title of law reports and journals
- CaseBase (Lexis Advance)Australian case citator. As well as citations for cases, CaseBase provides information about how the case has been treated, and may provide details of where the case has been discussed in journal articles.
- KeyCite (Westlaw AU)Keycite includes FirstPoint, an Australian case citator that provides access to case references, citation, history and digest information, and Laws of Australia.
- KeyCite - Westlaw AUWatch this video for an overview of KeyCite
- Lexis AdvanceLexis Advance contains both Australian and US case law, as well as journals and sources of commentary.
- Westlaw AUWestlaw contains many of the authorised Australian law report series.
- Westlaw AUWatch this video for an overview of the new Westlaw AU database
- CCH iKnowConnectDecisions from many practice areas
- AustLIIUnreported judgments
- JADELatest decisions of Australian Courts and Tribunals
- Western Australian ReportsAuthorised law reports of the Supreme Court of Western Australia
- WAIRC DecisionsWestern Australian Industrial Relations Commission
Find foreign cases
- Incorporated Council of Law ReportingOnline platform including ICLR's Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports covering case law from the Superior and Appellate Courts in England and Wales. The platform also includes: case summaries, a citator service, access to legislation, and individual profiles, in order to manage complex research
- Westlaw UKIncludes an analysis of UK cases. This database can also be used to locate UK legislation and some journals
- Thomson Reuters WestlawIncludes UK, US, European, Hong Kong, Canadian, and international materials
- Lexis Advance - US and other jurisdictionsIncludes All England Law Reports (IN England & Wales Cases, Combined) and other jurisdictions worldwide
- English Reports (1220-1873)Online & On the shelf. Republication of the Nominate Reports
- CommonLII60 Commonwealth and common law jurisdictions (Africa, Asia, Europe, Caribbean, Oceania)
- WorldLIICategories > Courts & Case Law
See links to other LII sites at the bottom of the page - LawCiteFree international case citator via AustLII
Important tip!
Visit our case law subject guide to learn more about:
- Authorised report series
- Reported vs. unreported judgments
- Finding cases judicially considered
- and more!
Courts & Tribunals
Courts' websites are great sources of information for finding out how the court operates, recent decisions, and so on.
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
CRICOS Code: 00126G
PRV12169, Australian University
PRV12169, Australian University