Reference List Example (based on Citing Medicine 2nd edition)

EndNote Instructions

The following instructions are based on using the Citing Medicine 2 (UWA) style with EndNote 20 and 21. 

AusDI

AusDI [Internet]. St Leonards (NSW): Health Communication Network; c2012. MIRENA® (levonorgestrel) intrauterine drug delivery system; [updated 2024 Jun 7; cited 2024 Nov 8]. Available from: https://ausdi-hcn-com-au.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/productInformation.hcn?file=p01348 

Reference Type: Electronic Book

Author - there is no author information found on AusDI. Leave this field blank.

Title – the title of the database. Add the whole statement AusDI [Internet].

Publisher/Place Published – add as per example.

Year - if you're not sure when a database was created, you can use c for circa. E.g. c2012

Date Accessed - Put the title of the part here. Include the semicolon at the end of the name. 

Last Update Date – add date of last update (if supplied) prefixed by the word updated, eg. updated 2024 Jun 7.

Year cited 

Date cited - format as (abbreviated) month day (e.g. Nov 8) 

   URL – copy and paste.

Australian Medicines Handbook

Australian Medicines Handbook [Internet]. Adelaide (SA): Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; c2000. Adenosine [last updated 2024 Jul, cited 2024 Nov 8]. Available from: https://amhonline-amh-net-au.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/chapters/cardiovascular-drugs/drugs-arrhythmias/antiarrhythmics/adenosine

Reference Type - Electronic Book

Author - there is no author information found in the Australian Medicines Handbook. Leave this field blank.

Title – The title of the database. Add the whole statement, i.e. Australian Medicines Handbook [Internet].

Publisher/Place Published – add as per example.

Year - if you're not sure when a database was created, you can use c for circa. E.g. c2000

Date Accessed - Put the title of the part here. Include the semicolon at the end of the name. 

Last Update Date – add date of last update (if supplied) prefixed by the word updated, eg. updated 2024 Jul.

Year cited 

Date cited - format as (abbreviated) month day (e.g. Nov 8) 

 URL – copy and paste.

BMJ Best Practice - evidence summary

Alexiou A. Acute pancreatitis. BMJ Best Practice [Internet]. London: BMJ Publishing Group; 2018 [last reviewed 2024 Oct 8, cited 2024 Nov 8]. Available from: https://bestpractice.bmj.com/topics/en-gb/3000118?q=Acute%20pancreatitis&c=suggested

Reference Type: Electronic Book Section

Author - find author details at the bottom of the Overview page for the summary you are referencing.

Title – add the name of the specific evidence summary.

Book Title - include the type of medium after the title - i.e. BMJ Best Practice [Internet]

Publisher/Place Published – add as per example.

Year - if available, add the year the specific evidence summary was published. 

Access date - include last reviewed or last updated date here, as well as the date cited in the same line. e.g. last reviewed 2024 Oct 8, cited 2024 Nov 8  

URL – copy and paste.

BMJ Best Practice – publication type except evidence summary

If referencing another publication from within Best Practice, such as a journal article, reference it according to its material type; eg. Journal Article, Web Page etc.

ClinicalKey - various

ClinicalKey contains a range of content types. Cite according to material type, eg. Journal Article, Ebook, etc.

Example ebook:

Hoffman T, Del Mar C, Bennett S. Evidence-based practice across the health professions [Internet]. 3rd ed. Chatswood (NSW): Elsevier Australia; 2017 [cited 2019 Feb 14]. Available from: https://www.clinicalkey.com.au/#!/browse/book/3-s2.0-C20160032369

Example article:

Abed M, Eshah N, Moser D. Risk profile of myocardial infarction in young versus older adults. Heart Lung [Internet]. 2018 [cited 2019 Jan 20];47(3): 226-230. Available from: https://www.clinicalkey.com.au/#!/content/journal/1-s2.0-S014795631730287X

Example guideline:

Ticagrelor for preventing athrerothrombotic events after myocardial infarction [Internet]. London: National Institute for Health and Care Excellence; 2016 [cited 2018 Aug 24]. Available from: https://www.clinicalkey.com.au/#!/content/nice_guidelines/65-s2.0-TA420 

Reference Type: Electronic Book 

See Books section

Reference Type: Journal Article 

See Electronic Journal Articles  

Reference Type: Electronic Book 

See Books section

Cochrane Review

Yuan Y, Wang Y, Xia J, et al. Topical, light‐based, and complementary interventions for acne: an overview of systematic reviews. Cochrane Database Syst Rev [Internet]. 2024 [cited 2024 Nov 8]. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD014918.pub2 

Reference Type: Electronic Article

Authors - see note about using et al at the top of this page. 

Title - add title of review.

Periodical Title - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (If you have the Medical Terms List downloaded, EndNote will abbreviate to Cochrane Database Syst Rev. If not, you will need to manually input the abbreviated title).

Year - year of publication. 

Year Cited  

Date Cited - format as (abbreviated) month day, e.g. Nov 8

URL – copy and paste.

Therapeutic Guidelines

Therapeutic Guidelines. [Internet]. Melbourne (VIC): Therapeutic Guidelines Ltd. Persistent unexplained fatigue; [last updated 2023 Jun; cited 2024 Nov 8]. Available from: https://tgldcdp-tg-org-au.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/viewTopic?etgAccess=true&guidelinePage=Fatigue&topicfile=c_FTG_Fatigue-overviewtopic_1&guidelinename=auto&sectionId=c_FTG_Persistent-unexplained-fatiguetopic_2#c_FTG_Persistent-unexplained-fatiguetopic_2  

Reference Type -Electronic Book Section

Author - There is no author for guidelines in the Therapeutic Guidelines. Omit this.

Title - Title of database, i.e. Therapeutic Guidelines

Type of Medium - Internet.

Publisher/Place Published – add as per example.

Chapter - add name of the guideline.

Last Update Date – add date of last update if supplied

Access date - type 'cited' and then the date, e.g. cited 2024 Nov 8

URL – copy and paste.

JBI Connect – all document types except systematic reviews

The Joanna Briggs Institute. Recommended Practice. Inhaler devices: interventions to improve inhaler technique. The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database [Internet]. 2018 [cited 2020 Feb 20]. Available from: https://onesearch.library.uwa.edu.au/permalink/61UWA_INST/1vk1d8f/alma99991258502101 by clicking through and searching Ovid for "Inhaler devices: interventions to improve inhaler technique".

Reference Type: Electronic Article

*Considered as a “contribution to a database”.      

Author - add individual author(s) if listed, otherwise use The Joanna Briggs Institute.

Title - begin with the type of publication (eg. Recommended Practice).

Periodical Title - The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.

Publisher/Place Published – add as per example.

 Year - year of publication 

 Year Cited- add year eg 2020  

 Date Cited-add month and day

URL – url not directly mappable, use the OneSearch permalink for the JBI Connect record and provide further instructions afterward (all in URL field).

JBI systematic review

These are published in the JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports.

Reference as journal article.

Reference Type: Journal Article

eMIMSelite

eMIMSelite [Internet]. Crows Nest (NSW): MIMS Australia Pty Ltd; 2019. Fefol; [updated 2006 Feb 1; cited 2019 Jul 20].
Available from: https://app-emimselite-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/medicineview?id=5331c7c2-1d99-4f50-9a42-a53300fd5955&type=abbpi

Reference Type – Electronic Book

Title – use the name of the database, i.e. eMIMSelite

Type of Medium - Internet

Date Accessed - Use this to add the title of the section or page, e.g. Fefol

Publisher/Place Published – add as per example.

Last Update Date - if available. e.g. updated 2006 Feb 1

Year Cited

Date Cited - add date of access, eg.  Jan 10.

URL – copy and paste.

UpToDate

Hull C. Dermatitis herpetiformis. In: Zone JJ, Ofori AO, editors. UpToDate [Internet]. Waltham (MA): UpToDate Inc; 2019
[last updated 2024 Aug 30; cited 2024 Nov 8].
Available from: https://www.uptodate.com/contents/dermatitis-herpetiformis?search=dermatitis%20herpetiformis&source=search_result&selectedTitle=1%7E40&usage_type=default&display_rank=1

Reference Type: Electronic Book Section

Author - add the author(s) of the section.

Title – add the title of the section.

Editor – add the editor(s) of the section.

Book Title - UpToDate [Internet]

Publisher/Place Published – add as per example.

URL – copy and paste.

Access Date - add date of access, eg. cited 2019 Jul 14.