Here we introduce you to our major newspaper databases that provide access to both current and archival major news publications from Australia and Internationally.  See our Business News and Historical News tabs for an introduction to specialist news sources related to these topics. 

The UWA Library now subscribes to the NewsBank Access World Research Collection which is made up of 13,800 newspapers from over 200 countries and territories including the Access Australia and Seven West Media Sources Collection. 

• Access Australia provides comprehensive full-text news coverage from across Australia.
  • It includes local newspapers and major titles such as The Australian, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Daily Telegraph, and The Age as well as content from over 500 of the most popular Australian daily, weekly, and Sunday newspapers, and hard-to-find community regional and rural titles.
  • Our subscription includes access to The Australian Financial Review with text-version of articles dating back to 1987 and daily image editions beginning 22 June 2022.
• Seven West Media Sources include The West Australian, Sunday Times, Kalgoorlie Miner and Countryman text-version coverage back to 1st January 2016. 
• Access World Research provides global coverage across North America, the United Kingdom, Ireland and Europe, Asia and the Middle East, Africa, and Central and South America.  

Access the NewsBank database from this OneSearch record link.  Get an introductory overview to using NewsBank at this link here. 

We are transitioning to NewsBank as our major provider of access to a wide range of information from news and media publishers.

You can still use Factiva to access information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more till the end of 2024. 

Access the Factiva Database through this OneSearch record link. 

The broad range of content provides local insight and a global perspective on business issues and current events – especially for researching news and current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.

It includes: 

• National, international and regional newspapers--current content and archives (e.g., The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Times, The Wall Street Journal, El Pais, The Financial Times, The Guardian, etc.)
• Magazines, journals and trade publications (e.g., Forbes, Newsweek , etc.)
• Newswires (e.g., AFP, Reuters, Dow Jones, etc.)
• TV or radio podcasts (e.g., BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox , etc.)
• Major news and business information websites, blogs and message boards
• Company reports
• Photo agencies (e.g., Reuters, Knight Ridder, etc.)
• Materials on the EUR-Lex website, giving access to the law of the European Union

Learn to use Factiva efficiently using the guide link provided under the next tab.

Did you know? You have access to a wide range of current local, national and international newspapers through our PressReader subscription:

• Guardian Australia
• The Washington Post
• The Straits Times

You can also access a number of popular magazine titles, such as Vogue, The Monthly, and Vanity Fair through PressReader - perfect weekend reading!

Free PressReader app for iPads, tablets and smart phones can be downloaded from the Apple App store or Google Play.

The PressReader app will automatically detect our UWA subscription when you are on campus.

When you are off campus, you will need to connect to the UWA VPN UniConnect to access our UWA subscription in the PressReader app. 

UWA VPN instructions for students

UWA VPN instructions for staff

Informit TV News contains news and related current affairs stories and documentaries broadcast by free-to-air networks. Coverage is from September 2007 onwards, and videos are searchable by subject, date or program title. Access Informit TV News via OneSearch.

As well as accessing national and international newspapers through our databases, you can also browse publication websites directly. 

RSS feeds provide a way to receive current news updates on specifc topic areas. You can set up RSS feeds from individual news sites or from databases. Below is a small selection. 

View our page on keeping up to date with RSS for more information. 

The Conversation offers research-informed in-depth analysis and debate on issues affecting our world curated by professional editors. There are a number of different editions from the global university community. 

Email your questions to our friendly library staff.

Students

web.uwa.edu.au/askuwa

HDR Students

hdrsupport-lib@uwa.edu.au

UWA Staff

staffsupport-lib@uwa.edu.au

More contact options are available on the Library Contact us page.