Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AGLC4 referencing style: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

This guide provides basic information on formatting references according to the Australian Guide to Legal Citation (4th ed.)

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Material Type

(AGLC Rule)

Footnote Example

Bibliography Example

Dictionary: Print  (includes Legal Dictionaries) 

(Rule 7.6)

1 Macquarie Dictionary (5th ed, 2009) 'debenture' (def 1). 

Macquarie Dictionary (5th ed, 2009) 

Dictionary: Online (includes Legal Dictionaries)  

(Rule 7.6)

Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 19 August 2021) 'espionage' (def 1).

Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 19 August 2021)

Legal Encyclopaedias: Print 

(Rule 7.7)

1 LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, vol 30 (at 19 August 2021) 275 Media and Communications, '4 Broadcasting Services' [275-290].

LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, vol 30 (at 19 August 2021) 275 Media Communications, '4 Broadcasting Services'

Legal Encyclopaedias: Online

(Rule 7.7)

1 Westlaw AU, The Laws of Australia (online at 19 August 2021) 5 Communications, '6.8 Broadcasting' [6.8.2].  Westlaw AU, The Laws of Australia (online at 19 August 2018) 2 Communications, '6.8 Broadcasting' 

CONTENT LICENCE

 Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.