Skip to main content

EndNote: Connections

What are Connection Files?

To search UWA OneSearch using the "online search" from within EndNote, download this UWA OneSearch.enz connection file.* 

Connection files allow you to search a database or library catalogue using the "online search" from within EndNote. This method uses EndNote as the search interface rather than the normal database search screen.

How does this help you?

  • Simplifies the process of retrieving records (though it's not as thorough a search as using a database's purpose built software)
  • Connection files incorporate filters to convert the record data into EndNote format
  • The link in the record can be use to search for full text.

(Save this in your Connections folder.
For Windows, this will be in your Program Files (x86)>EndNote X8>Connections folder.  
For Mac, this will be in your Applications>EndNote X8>Connections folder )

*Please note: The UWA_OneSearch connection file was created in December 2014 when the UWA Library migrated to new OneSearch catalogue.
The old "U Western Australia" connection file that is automatically installed in EndNote is no longer active. 

Also Note: Edited books do not import correctly from OneSearch. You will need to check for edited books (these may show as Book, Generic or Electronic Book Reference Types).

With the Reference Panel open, scan the Notes fields of each new record for editor information.
For each reference with a note indicating that the “authors” are actually editors, change the Reference Type to Edited Book.

Using Connection Files

Connection files for many library catalogues, including major Western Australian and Australian libraries, are supplied with EndNote. In addition, you can search open access databases such as PubMed using the EndNote connection file. Most databases, however, cannot be searched via EndNote with the current set up.

To conduct a search using a connection file:

  1. Go to the Tools menu in EndNote
  2. Choose Online Search
  3. From there, you can select the library catalogue or database that you'd like to search

Additional connection files are available from the EndNote website

Please note: The connection files for the Libraries Australia and WorldCat catalogues require authentication.  At present they can only be used on campus. 

 

Important tip:

EndNote has three modes that are relevant to the Online Search function.

Online mode: you can conduct a search in a catalogue or database from within the EndNote program. Your search results will be displayed in a temporary holding place. If you then want to save some of the items, you need to copy them to your EndNote library (right click and choose Copy Reference To or use the References menu). This mode is shown in the image below.

Integrated mode: you can also conduct a search in a catalogue or database, but all search results will be saved immediately in your EndNote library. If you want the chance to review the references before saving them, we do not recommend this option. 

Local mode: search your EndNote library locally. You can also do this in the integrated mode.

To toggle between the modes, click on the icons near the top left hand corner of the EndNote library window. The books image is for the local library, the globe is for online searching, and the books + globe is the integrated mode.


Reminder Note: Edited books do not import correctly from library catalogues, including UWA OneSearch. You will need to check for edited books (these may show as Book, Generic or Electronic Book Reference Types).

With the Reference Panel open, scan the Notes fields of each new record for editor information.
For each reference with a note indicating that the “authors” are actually editors, change the Reference Type to Edited Book.