Skip to main content

Humanities - Classics and ancient history: Databases / journals

This guide will help you find resources for classics and ancient history.

 

Reproduced under Creative Commons licence attribution 2.0

University Library

The University Library is your Gateway to quality information through print and digital collections as well as the many services it has in store for you. Click on the image and start to explore

OneSearch

Sign in to OneSearch to access our full range of resources.

Use OneSearch to search the for the following resources at once:

  • UWA print collection
  • ebooks
  • journal articles
  • exam papers
  • CMO materials
  • newspaper articles
  • conference proceedings
  • law reports
  • music scores
  • and more

Find databases

A list of databases by disciplines is accessible on the main library webpage at the top of the OneSearch box

Assignment date calculator

Enter the due date into the Assignment Date Calculator to get an instant plan of attack with links to advice and resources.

Kanopy

Useful UWA resources

Introduction

Welcome to the Classics and Ancient History guide! In this guide you will find information resources specific to your discipline as well links to services available to you as a UWA student. Click on the tabs to navigate.

Finding information using databases

Search the following databases to find information resources (e.g. journal articles and book chapters) on your subject. Using OneSearch will enable searching across a number of databases at one time. If you prefer to search databases individually, the next tabs list resources useful for the disciplines of the Humanities in general and some more specific to Classics and Ancient Studies.

Loading

Journals

Find UWA full text articles in Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar logo

 

Google Scholar lets you search for scholarly literature across a variety of disciplines. Google Scholar is freely searchable and oftens offers direct access to the full text or through "Find it at UWA".

Activate the FindIt@UWA links in Google Scholar to access the UWA full text version of articles. Once activated, you will see FindIt@UWA links - click these and the online, UWA databases will be searched for you.

To activate the FindIt@UWA feature in Google Scholar when off campus:

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Click on Settings (the small black cog wheel - the last icon in the top menu)
  3. Select Library Links in the left hand side menu
  4. Enter University of Western Australia (or UWA Library) in the search box and click on the magnifying glass
  5. Tick the checkbox for the option The University of Western Australia (FindIt@UWA)
  6. Click Save

Figure 1: FindIt@UWA link in Google Scholar