Skip to main content

Law - Legal research guide: Case Law: Case citators

Find cases by citation. party names and topic from Australian and international jurisdictions.

Find Australian cases

Find foreign cases

Why use case citators?

Case Citators will help you determine:

  • The correct citation for a case when you don't have the full citation
  • If the case has been reported in more than one series of reports
  • Whether the case has been reported in an authorised law report series
  • Whether any later cases have considered the case
  • Which earlier cases were considered by the case
  • If journal articles have considered the case
  • If the case has considered legislation

Case citators will offer links to the full text of the judgment if it is available from the publisher of the citator. They also provide case treatment annotations. Annotations help you understand more about the history of a case and whether it is still considered good law. Definitions of these annotations are available here (compliments of University of Queensland Law Library)

Where Do They Look For My Search Terms?

Case citators don’t search across the full text of a case. They search the data in the citator record or summary of the case, including citation, party names, jurisdiction, court and judge. For more information about how legal databases work see Lauren Austin's Legal Research Rescue blog.

Important Case Citators

CaseBase (LexisNexis AU) Guide 
Australian reported and unreported judgments 1825+ and some international cases. CaseBase Journal Articles offers references to consideration of cases in journal articles. To link to leading UK cases cited in CaseBase go to Westlaw for Law Reports (Database identifier LAW-RPTS) and Lexis.com for the All England Law Reports.

FirstPoint (Westlaw AU) online tutorial 
A database of case digests of reported Australian cases 1825+ and Australian unreported judgments 1999+ with links to the full text decision when available. Australian case references, citations, history, and digest information.

LawCite (AustLII) More information 
Australian and international cases. LawCite is an automatically generated international legal case and journal article citator. It is being developed at AustLII in collaboration with other members of the Free Access to Law Movement

Australian and New Zealand citator to UK reports (LexisNexis publication)
346.542 - Main Collection on Level 3 of the Beasley Law Library.
This annual publication provides current information regarding UK decisions judicially considered in Australian and New Zealand courts. Look up the UK judgment to see how it was considered in Australian or New Zealand cases.  Overseas cases are also noted, as it is not unusual for Australian courts to take note of United States, Canadian and European authority.

United Kingdom Case Law Locator: The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting; Westlaw UK (for Case analyses) or Thomson Reuters Westlaw