Skip to main content

Law - Legal research guide: Legislation: Commonwealth

Find out about acts, delegated legislation, bills, parliamentary documents and extrinsic materials for Australian jurisdictions

Resources - Cth

Federal Register of Legislative Instruments (FRLI) on Comlaw

From 1 January 2005, under section 20 of the Legislative Instruments Act 2003 (Cth), the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments (FRLI) was established as the authorised online repository for electronic versions of Commonwealth legislative instruments and related materials. Legislative instruments include rules, regulations, orders, explanatory statements, proclamations and notices as well as compilations of these instruments. FRLI is maintained by the Attorney-General's Department.

The legislative changes in 2005 also replaced the Statutory Rules series (SR) with the Select Statutory Instruments series (SLI). This is a small group of the more important Federal legislative instruments which includes the Regulations and Court Rules.

You will notice that except for a couple of titles, the Commonwealth Numbered and Reprinted Regulations and Rules, on the shelves in the Legislation collection on level 2 of the Beasley Law library, cease with the 2004 volumes. They have been replaced by the FRLI authorized electronic version and are no longer required.

Forms of delegated legislation (CTH)

Once Regulations have been made they are given a sequential number for the year.

For example:

Research Involving Human Embryos Regulations 2003 (Cth) is Statutory Rule number 22 of 2003. (SR 2003, No. 22)
Federal Magistrates Court (Bankruptcy) Rules 2006 (Cth) is Select Legislative Instrument 1 of 2006 (SLI 2006, No. 1)

 

 

Form Medium Resource Location

Numbered
(pre-2005)

print

Green bound volumes

Legislation collection: Level 2

online

ComLaw/FRLI
Lawlex

OneSearch

Reprinted
(pre-2005)

print

Binders (latest reprints only)

Legislation collection: Level 2

Consolidated

online

ComLaw/FRLI
Lawlex

OneSearch

Updating - Federal Statutes Annotations (LexisNexis AU)

For more information about individual provisions in a legislative instrument consult the Federal Statutes Annotations (LexisNexis AU).

This service provides annotations for all Commonwealth legislation including subordinate legislation. Under each principal act details of the instruments enabled are given including amendments and commencement details.

Citations for legislation judicially considered are also included, together with related books and journal articles listed under the relevant provisions. The online format also provides links to the online Halsbury's Laws of Australia, Australian Current Law, Unreported Judgments and various Law Reports series available in LexisNexis AU.

  • Search - Click on the Search tab, enter the name of the enabling principal act in the Legislation Title box and select Related Legislation from the Search Within menu
    OR
  • Browse - Click on the (+) next to Annotations and browse to the enabling act. Click on the (+) next to Regulations, Rules, etc. and browse to the regulations you require. Commencement and reprint details are provided as well as a list of amending instruments. Each amended reg. is listed with annotations

Australian Current Law: Legislation (LexisNexis AU)

This resource includes a TABLE OF REPRINTED REGULATIONS/RULES which can be browsed by year. A useful updater for all Australian jurisdictions.

 

Updating - Commonwealth Statutes Annotations - On the Shelf - Level 2

This publication is produced by Thomson Reuters and is similar in coverage to Federal Statutes Annotations available online in LexisNexis AU.

This service provides notes to principal Commonwealth Acts and some Regulations and Rules of Court. These notes include references to relevant case law, articles, a detailed summary of amendments to the Principal Act since the latest reprint, and judges' opinions on specific provisions.

This service also contains a Table of Parliamentary Debates for Acts passed and a quarterly cumulative supplement to update the cumulative annual volume.

Includes Wicks Subject Index to Commonwealth Legislation