Skip to main content

Law - Legal research guide: Legislation: 8. Articles considering legislation

Find out about acts, delegated legislation, bills, parliamentary documents and extrinsic materials for Australian jurisdictions

CaseBase journal articles considering legislation

  1. Go to CaseBase in LexisNexis AU
  2. In the Sources menu, select CaseBase Journal Articles
  3. In the Legislation Judicially Considered box, enter keywords for the legislation or legislative provision required (eg. to find articles which discuss section 27 of the Western Australian Criminal Code, enter: criminal code w/p wa w/p 27). For particular provisions, just enter the number
  4. Each citator record in the results list will include a list of Legislation considered by this article
  5. Check each record for relevance
  6. If the full text of the article is not present, then follow the instructions below under What If It's Not There!

Westlaw AU journal articles considering legislation

  1. Go to Westlaw AU
  2. Click on the Journals box towards the bottom of the screen
  3. In the search box, enter keywords for the legislative provision required (eg. criminal code wa 27)
  4. Browse the results list for relevant articles

Some results will be full text while others will be Australian Legal Journal Index (ALJI) abstracts. To locate the articles mentioned in these abstracts then follow the instructions below under What if it's Not There!  

Informit journal articles considering legislation

  1. Search Informit Law in OneSearch, or
  2. Go to Informit Search > Databases by Subject > Law > tick the Law box > Continue
  3. In the Search Query box, enter keywords for the legislation or legislative provision you require (eg. "criminal code" and wa and 27)
  4. In the Any field box, select Legislation (LEG) to limit your search to this part of the record
  5. In the results list, click on Complete Record under each record to check the whole description of the article for relevance
  6. If the Full Text PDF of the article is not offered, then click on the Find it @ UWA icon
  7. In the Find it dialog box, select Find it online, from your preferred database to locate the article
  8. If online access is not available, then click Check if we have it in print via OneSearch. Many journals are available in the Journals collection on Level 4 of the Beasley Law Library

What if it's not there!

If you find a reference to the perfect journal article in a database, as often happens in CaseBase, for example, here is the process you use to check if full text is available somewhere, anywhere!

  1. Make a note of the full citation. For example, Aboriginal land rights after Mabo (1992) 66 LIJ 1105
  2. Use the citation part of the reference to track the journal title, in this case the LIJ which is an abbreviation representing the full title of the journal
  3. To find the full title you will need to check an abbreviations list.
  4. If you are in CaseBase go to: Help > Abbreviations and browse the alphabetical list for the correct full title. In this example, LIJ is Law Institute Journal (Vic)
  5. If you are not in CaseBase, then use either the Legal Research Guide: Abbreviations or Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations and search By Abbreviation. You know the publication is from Victoria, so that will help in locating the correct title in Cardiff
  6. Go to OneSearch and enter Law Institute Journal. Use the drop down menu to limit the search to Journal titles
  7. If you find an entry for the journal, click on Check Availability to see volumes held or View Online if an online version is available. In this case the journal is available on the shelf. The holdings indicate that volume 66 (1992) is available
  8. Go to the Law Journals collection on level 4 of the Beasley Law library, locate volume 66, page 1105, and read or photocopy the article