Skip to Main Content

University Library

Legislation: Other jurisdictions

This Guide provides information on how to find Acts, Delegated Legislation, Bills, Parliamentary documents and extrinsic materials for Australian jurisdictions. It also provides information on how to keep up to date with Legislation.

Finding legislation from other jurisdictions

One way to find legislation from jurisdictions other than Australia is to browse for legislation databases in OneSearch.

Westlaw contains consolidated legislation for the US and UK.

Lexis Advance contains consolidated legislation for the US, UK, Canada, EU and some Commonwealth countries including the Statutes of South Africa, Malaysia, Scotland and the Laws of Hong Kong.

WorldLII includes legislation from a variety of jurisdictions.  Under Catalog > All Categories > Legislation

Halsbury's statutes of England and Wales

Halsbury’s Statutes comprises the statute law of England and Wales from the earliest times to the present day. The fourth edition of Halsbury’s Statutes, which was published in 50 volumes between 1985 and 1992, provides the user with an up-to-date version of the amended text of every Public General Act and Church of England Measure currently in force, and also of a number of private and local Acts. The main work is supplemented by an annual hardbound supplement and periodic loose-leaf updates. Individual volumes are reissued when there has been a significant impact on the subject matter concerned through changes in legislation.

Halsbury's Statutes has a number of different parts. 

  1. Main volumes
  2. Annual consolidated index
  3. Cumulative supplement
  4. Current statute service binders
  5. Destinations tables
  6. Halsbury's Statutes citator
  7. Is it in force?
  8. Consolidated table of cases

The statutes are grouped under an alphabetical title scheme covering the main areas of legal practice.  Each Act is fully annotated to provide precise information relating to:

  • parliamentary debates
  • amendments and repeals
  • derivation notes in the case of consolidating legislation
  • commencement
  • cross-references to other provisions of the Act and to other relevant provisions in Halsbury’s Statutes
  • judicial interpretation
  • subordinate legislation
  • references to words specifically defined in the Act

Lexis provides an outline on how to use Halsbury's Statutes.

UK legislation

EU Law

EUR-Lex is a multilingual database created by the EU institutions. It contains case law, legislation, bills and a vast array of other information.

 

US Session Laws

Banner image sources: Flikr (1) licensed under a CC0 Public Domain license. Images Wikipedia (2),  Wikimedia Commons (3)  & Wikipedia (4)  licensed under a CC BY-SA 3.0 license. Wikimedia Commons (5) licensed under CC BY 2.5 AU licence.

CONTENT LICENCE

 Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.