Legal research guide: Public International Law: Books and journals
An introduction to Public International Law and some useful general resources.
A list of key databases and journals for Public International Law.
Finding Journals and Books: Key PIL databases
Journal articles and books are very important when it comes to international legal research.
For a full list of Databases go to OneSearch > Databases
Check OneSearch Help for more search tips! Most databases also have their own very useful suggestions for searching
- Hein Online Law Journal LibraryThe collection consists of access to over 1200 Law journals from various countries.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (a subset of Hein Online)For law of countries other than US & UK. Published by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London in co-operation with the American Association of Law Libraries. Hosted on Hein Online.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (1981+)Published in cooperation with the American Association of Law Libraries. Coverage dates: Indexing 1981+, Abstracting 1990+, “select” Full Text 1995+
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Retrospective (1908 - 1981)Indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Complements ILP.
- Kluwer Law InternationalFull text of journals from Kluwer Law International, a publisher of over 50 English language international law journals. Includes searchable tables of contents and abstracts.
- Lexis AdvanceIncludes full-text legal materials including case law, legislation and journal articles for Australia, the US, UK, EU, Canada & other international jurisdictions.
- Thomson Reuters WestlawA database of full-text legal materials including case law, legislation and journal articles for the US, UK, EU, Canada and other international jurisdictions. It is an excellent resource for any international or comparative legal research. Includes the UK Law Reports series.
- Brill Martinus Nijhoff e-BooksBrill's publishing program in the fields of international law and human rights appears under the imprint Martinus Nijhoff Publishers. Nijhoff focuses on areas in public international law, on human rights, on humanitarian law, and, increasingly, on international relations.
Finding Journal Articles: Key PIL journals
Banner image sources: Image 1, 2, 4, & 5 licensed under CC0 Public Domain license. Image , Image 3 licensed under a CC BY-SA 2.0 license.
CONTENT LICENCE
Except for logos, Canva designs or where otherwise indicated, content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence.
Staff & Students
The University of Western Australia
CRICOS Code: 00126G
PRV12169, Australian University
PRV12169, Australian University