Skip to main content

Chicago citation style UWA examples: 17th edition

A guide to using the Chicago citation referencing style for footnotes and reference lists.

Chicago Citation Style Notes and Bibliography System (17th A)

This guide provides examples of the Chicago Citation Style Notes and Bibliography System (17th A).

This referencing style requires footnotes in text when citing, and a bibliography at the end of your document listing all the works that you have cited and any other works you have consulted, the bibliography should be arranged alphabetically by author.

For additional examples and explanations, or in doubt, please refer to Chapter 14 of The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition.

Chicago Citation Style Examples Print Version (PDF)

Chicago Citation Style 17th ed Examples for UWA

 

 Books and eBooks  Multimedia and Audio Visual
 Reference works  Music Scores
 Journal Articles  Lecture Notes
 Newspapers  Theses
 Internet/Websites  Personal Communication
 Images and Tables  Citing information someone else has cited 
 Conference papers and proceedings   Using short form of citations and ibid.

 

Books & eBooks

If a book is available in more than one format (i.e. print, eBook), cite the version you consulted.

Material Type

Footnote example

Subsequent note entry

Bibliography example

Book: Single Author

11. Richard Read, Art and its Discontents: The Early Life of Adrian Stokes (Aldershot, England: Ashgate, 2002), 65.

25. Read, Art and its Discontents, 70.

Read, Richard. Art and its Discontents: The Early Life of Adrian Stokes. Aldershot, England: Ashgate, 2002.

Book: Two or more authors

* Authors are listed in the same order used on the title page for both the note and the bibliography.

 

 

8. Philip D. Goldswain, Hannah Lewi and Emma Williamson, Visualising the Architecture of Federation (Perth, WA: Curtin University of Technology and The National Council for the Centenary of Federation, 2001), 83.

 

 

 

 

 

  

12. Goldswain, Lewi and Williamson, Visualising the Architecture of Federation, 88.

 

 

 

 

 

Goldswain, Philip D., Hannah Lewi, and Emma Williamson. Visualising the Architecture of Federation. Perth, WA: Curtin University of Technology and The National Council for the Centenary of Federation, 2001.

 

* In the bibliography only the first author's name is inverted and a comma must appear before and after the first author's given name or initial

 

 

 

Book: Four or more authors

 

11. Christopher Vernon et al., The Griffin Legacy: Canberra, the Nation's Capital in the 21st Century (Canberra, ACT: National Capital Authority, 2004), 32.

*In the note, list only the first author, followed by et al. ("and others")

 

 

 

20. Vernon et al., The Griffin Legacy, 41.

 

 

 

 

Vernon, C.S. MacKenzie, I. Wood-Bradley, and D. Headon. The Griffin Legacy: Canberra, the Nation's Capital in the 21st Century. Canberra, ACT: National Capital Authority, 2004.

*Up to ten authors, list all the authors in the bibliography. If more than ten, list the first seven authors followed by 'et al.'.

 

 

 

Book: Two authors (eds) or more with same family name

1. Christopher Kendris and Theodore Kendris, 501 Spanish Verbs, 7th ed. (Hauppauge, NY: Barron’s Educational Series, 2010), 14.

 

 

 

4. Kendris and Kendris, 501 Spanish Verbs, 27–28.

 

 

Kendris, Christopher, and Theodore Kendris, 501 Spanish Verbs, 7th ed. (Hauppauge, NY: Barron’s Educational Series, 2010).

 

 

 

Book: multi-volume works

1. Muriel St. Clare Byrne, ed., The Lisle Letters (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981), 4:243.

*The volume cited and page number are separated by a colon. In the short form the volume number does not need to be repeated.

For more examples go to the Chicago Manual of Style Online: Chapter 14. section 116 to 122.

 

Muriel St. Clare Byrne, ed., The Lisle Letters, 255.

 

 

 

Byrne, Muriel St. Clare, ed. The Lisle Letters. 6 vols. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981

 

 

.

Book: No author

4. Stanze in lode della donna brutta (Florence, 1547), 13.

More examples: Chicago Manual of Style Online chapter 14 section 79,

 

 

7. Stanze in lode della donna, 14.

 

 

 

  • Stanze in lode della donna brutta. Florence, 1547.

 

 

Book: Editor, translator or compiler

2. Philip D. Goldswain and William Taylor eds., An everyday Transience: The Urban Imaginary of Goldfields Photographer John Joseph Dwyer (Perth, WA: UWA Publishing, 2010), 10.

 

 

11. Goldswain and Taylor, eds., An Everyday Transience, 7.

 

Goldswain, Philip D and William Taylor, eds. An Everyday Transience: The Urban Imaginary of Goldfields Photographer John Joseph Dwyer. Perth, WA: UWA Publishing, 2010.

 

 

Book: Editor, translator or compiler in addition to author

12. Heinz Rasch, Some Roots of Modern Architecture, trans. and ed. George Jelinek and Joan Jelinek (London: Tiranti, 1967), 20.

 

18. Heinz Rasch, Some Roots of Modern Architecture, 22.

Rasch, Heinz. Some Roots of Modern Architecture. Translated and edited by George Jelinek and Joan Jelinek. London: Tiranti, 1967.

 

Book: Author's name appears in title

9. Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, ed. John Bigelow (Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott, 1868), 233.

 

13. Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, 234.
 

Franklin, Benjamin. Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin.  Edited by John Bigelow. Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott, 1868.

 

Book: Corporate or Organisation as author

8. Gehl Architects, Perth 2009 : Public Spaces and Public Life (Perth, WA: Department of Planning and Urban Development, 1994), 105.

 

12. Gehl Architects, Perth 2009, 107.

 

Gehl Architects. Perth 2009: Public Spaces and Public Life. Perth, WA: Department of Planning and Urban Developments, 1994.

 

Book: Government publication

5. Western Australian Department of Planning and Urban Development, Metropolitan Centres: Policy Statement for the Perth Metropolitan Region (Perth, W.A.: Department of Planning and Urban Development, 1991) 21.

 

 

9. Western Australian Department of Planning and Urban Development, Metropolitan Centres, 22.

Western Australian Department of Planning and Urban Development. Metropolitan Centres: Policy Statement for the Perth Metropolitan Region. Perth, W.A.: Department of Planning and Urban Development, 1991.

 

 

Book: Chapter or part of a book

3. Christopher Vernon and George Seddon, "Hacket and Annear: Laying the Foundations, "in A Landscape for Learning: A History of the Grounds of The University of Western Australia, ed. George Seddon and Gillian Lilleyman (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2006), 32-33.

 

 

 

 

6. Vernon and Seddon, "Hackett and Annear, "34.

 

 

 

 

 

Vernon, Christopher, and George Seddon. "Hackett and Annear: Laying the Foundations." In A Landscape for Learning: A History of the Grounds of The University of Western Australia, edited by George Seddon and Gillian Lilleyman, 30-35. Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2006.

 

 

 

 

Book: Edition other than first

1. Quentin Beresford and Gary Partingon, Reform and resistance in aboriginal education: the Australian experience, rev.ed. (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2012), 55.

 

 

5. Beresford and Partington, Reform and Resistance, 57.

 

 

Beresford, Quentin, and Gary Partington. Reform and Resistance in Aboriginal Education: The Australian Experience. Rev. ed. Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2012.

 

 

 

Book: Reprint editions

2. Albert Schweitzer, J. S. Bach. Translated by Ernest Newman. 2 vols. (1911. Reprint, New York: Dover, 1966), 53.

More examples about reprint and modern editions: Chicago Manual of Style Online chapter 14 section 114.

 

 

4. Schweizer, J. S. Bach, 67.

 

 

 

Schweitzer, Albert. J. S. Bach. Translated by Ernest Newman. 2 vols. 1911. Reprint, New York: Dover, 1966.

 

 

 

eBook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Simon Unwin, Analysing Architecture (Hoboken: Taylor and Francis, 2009), http://uwa.eblib.com.au.ezproxy.edu.au/patron/ FullRecord.aspx?p=369114.

*For eBooks consulted online, list a URL; include an access date only if one is required by your discipline. If no fixed page numbers are available, you can include a section title or a chapter or other number.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Unwin, Analysing Architecture, 22.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unwin, Simon. Analysing Architecture. Hoboken: Taylor and Francis, 2009. http://uwa.eblib.com.auezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/patron/ FullRecord. aspx?p+369114.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reference works

Dictionary / Encyclopaedia entry (print)

 

1. New Grove Dictionary of Opera, s.v. “Rake’s Progress, The” by Richard Taruskin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Grove Dictionary of Opera, s.v. “Rake’s Progress, The” by Richard Taruskin.

*“Well-known reference books, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, are normally cited in notes rather than in bibliographies. The facts of publication are often omitted, but the edition (if not the first) must be specified. References to an alphabetically arranged work cite the item (not the volume or page number) preceded by s.v. (sub verbo, “under the word”; pl. s.vv.)”

(Taken from The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 232.)

 

Dictionary / Encyclopaedia entry (online)

1. New Grove Dictionary of Opera, s.v. “Rake’s Progress, The” by Richard Taruskin, accessed March 21, 2017, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

 

 

 

New Grove Dictionary of Opera, s.v. “Rake’s Progress, The” by Richard Taruskin. Accessed March 21, 2017. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

*See The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 232.

 

Dictionary / Encyclopaedia (print) for substantial, authored entry

1. Robert Winter, Maurice Brown and Eric Sams, “Schubert, Franz,” in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, ed. Stanley Sadie and John Tyrell (London: MacMillan, 2001), 22:656.

 

 

 

 

Winter, Robert, Maurice Brown and Eric Sams. “Schubert, Franz.” In The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrell, vol. 22: 655-729. London: MacMillan, 2001.

 

*See The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 232

 

Dictionary/Encyclopaedia entry (online) for substantial, authored entry

1. Robert Winter, Maurice Brown and Eric Sams, “Schubert, Franz,” in Grove Music Online (Oxford University Press), accessed March 21, 2017, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ subscriber/article/grove/music/25109.

 

 

 

 

Winter, Robert, Maurice Brown and Eric Sams. “Schubert, Franz.” In Grove Music Online. Oxford University Press. Accessed March 21, 2017. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ subscriber/article/grove/music/25109.

 

*See The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 234.

Journal Articles

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Journal Article in print

12. Philip Goldswain, "State Theatre Centre," Architecture Australia 100, no. 2 (2011): 54.

If the page numbering for a journal  is not continuous throughout a single volume, the short form should include the issue number in addition to the volume number. See Chicago Manual of Style Online chapter 14 section 185.

15. Goldswain, "State Theatre Centre," 54.

 

Goldswain, Philip. "State Theatre Centre." Architecture Australia 100, no. 2 (2011): 49-57.

 

 

Journal article online (with a DOI)

19. Aimee Walshaw, "Accommodating Poverty: The Housing and Living Arrangements of the English Poor, C. 1600-1850," Housing Studies 27, no. 5 (2012): 726.
doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/02673037.2012.617922

23. Walshaw, "Accommodating Poverty,"  727.

Walshaw, Aimee. "Accommodating Poverty: The Housing and Living Arrangements of the English Poor, C. 1600-1850." Housing Studies 27, no. 5 (2012): 726-27. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/02673037.2012.617922.

Journal article online (with a URL and access date*)

 

 

5. Richard Read, "Vico, Virginia Woolf and Adrian Stoke's Autobiographies: Fantasy, Providence and Isolation in Post-War British Aesthetics," Art History 35, no. 4 (2012): 779, accessed September 5, 2013, http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db= aph&AN=78361910&site=ehost-live.

 

*Access dates are not usually required for journal articles unless no date of publication or revision can be determined from the source. However, some publishers or unit coordinators require an access date to be added, in which case, the access date should immediately precede the URL or DOI.  
See The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 176.

 

8. Read, "Vico, Virginia Woolf and Adrian Stokes's Autobiographies", 780.

 

 

 

 

 

Read, Richard. "Vico, Virginia Woolf and Adrian Stokes's Autobiographies: Fantasy, Providence and Isolation in Post-War British Aesthetics." Art History 35, no. 4 (2012): 778-795. Access September 5, 2013. http:search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db =aph&AN=78361910&site=ehost-live.

 

 

 

 

 

Journal article online (from a database, no DOI or stable URL)

 

7. Simon Anderson, "Perth Arena," Architecture Australia 102, no.5 (2013): 35, Academic Search Premier.

*Include the name of the database or URL of journal article web page

 

 

9. Anderson, "Perth Arena," 136.

 

 

 

Anderson, Simon. "Perth Arena." Architecture Australia 102, no. 5 (2013): 34-41. Academic Search Premier.

 

 

 

Newspapers
Article from print newspaper

2. John Miles, “Crime Rate on the Rise in the Suburbs,” West Australian, Sept 23, 2016.

More information in The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 191 -200.)

See also "Published interview" example in Personal Communications below.

4. Miles, "Crime Rate".

 

 

Miles, John, “Crime Rate on the Rise in the Suburbs,” West Australian, Sept 23, 2016.

 

 

Newspaper article online or from a database 1. Troy Bramston, "Oldest ANZAC Cove Memorial Returns," The Australian, Sept  10, 2014, https://global-factiva-com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ha/default.aspx#./!?&_suid=150908938792205600957033914544  3. Bramston, "Oldest ANZAC Cove Memorial Returns". Bramston, Troy. "Oldest ANZAC Cove Memorial Returns." The Australian, Sept  10, 2014. https://global-factiva-com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ha/default.aspx#./!?&_suid=150908938792205600957033914544

Internet/Websites

Author, title of the page or post, title or owner of the site, date it was posted (if available), access date and URL.

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Webpage

15.  Keith Schneider, “Salt Lake City is Finding a Payoff in Conservation,” New York Times, November 7, 2007, accessed June 13, 2016, http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/07/business/ businessspecial3/07cities.htm.

 * Include a publication date or modification as well as an access date. If no publication date or modification date can be determined include access date.

 

 

 

 

Schneider, Keith.  “Salt Lake City is Finding a Payoff in Conservation.” New York Times, November 7, 2007. Accessed June 13, 2016.  http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/07/business/ businessspecial3/07cities.htm.

 

 

 

Webpage: No Author

8. "History of the Library and collections," Royal British Association of Architects, accessed April 4, 2013, http://www.architecture.com./LibraryDrawings AndPhotographs/RIBALibrary/History.aspx.

 

 

16. Royal British Association of Architects, "History of the Library and collections."

 

Royal British Association of Architects. "History of the Library and collections." Accessed April 4, 2013.  http:www.architecture.com/Library DrawingsAndPhotographs/RIBALibrary/History.aspx.

 

 

Webpage: No Date

12. "Weaver Hawkins," Design & Art Australia Online, last modified April 4, 2013,
http://www.daao.org.au/bio/weaver-hawkins/.

 

 

17. Design & Art Australia Online, "Weaver Hawkins."

 

Design & Art Australia Online. "Weaver Hawkins." Last modified April 4, 2013.
http://www.daao.org.au/bio/weaver-hawkins/.

 

 

Blog

 

4. Tamara Winikoff, "Visual artists' fees: what is the status of artists in Australia?," The NAVA Blog, November 9, 2013,
http://www.visualarts.net.au/navablogs/artistfees-artshub0.

 

* Add the word blog in brackets after the name of the blog (unless the word blog is part of the name)

 

 

Winikoff, "Visual artists' fees."

 

 

 

 

 

Winikoff, Tamara. "Visual artists' fees: what is the status of artists in Australia?" The NAVA Blog. November 9, 2013.
http://www.visualarts.net.au/navablogs/artistfees-artshub0.

 

 

 

 

Facebook page

3. Tony Abbott's Facebook page, accessed July 25, 2013,
http://www.facebook.com/TonyAbbottMP.

24. Abbott, Facebook page.

Tony Abbott's Facebook page. Accessed July 25, 2013. https://www.
facebook.com/TonyAbbottMP.

Facebook post

1. Junot Díaz, “Always surprises my students when I tell them that the ‘real’ medieval was more diverse than the fake ones most of us consume,” Facebook, February 24, 2016, https://www.facebook.com/junotdiaz.writer/posts/972495572815454.

13. Díaz, Facebook post. Díaz, Junot. “Always surprises my students when I tell them that the ‘real’ medieval was more diverse than the fake ones most of us consume,” Facebook, February 24, 2016, https://www.facebook.com/junotdiaz.writer/posts/972495572815454.

Twitter profile

32. UWA news, Twitter page, accessed September 14, 2011, https://twitter.com/uwanews.

 

34. UWA news, Twitter page.

 

UWA news Twitter page. Accessed September 14, 2011.
http://twitter.com/uwanews.

 

Twitter post ('tweet')

2. Conan O’Brien (@ConanOBrien), “In honor of Earth Day, I’m recycling my tweets,” Twitter, April 22, 2015, 11:10 a.m., https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448.

 

15. O'Brien, Twitter post.

 

O'Brien, Conan (@ConanOBrien). “In honor of Earth Day, I’m recycling my tweets,” Twitter, April 22, 2015, 11:10 a.m., https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448.

 

Online video (YouTube)

32. “Horowitz TV Interview 1977,” filmed March 1977, YouTube Video, 14:58, posted by “goodmanmusica,” August 2010, http://youtu.be/eZm7OW3ufbc.

 

“Horowitz TV Interview 1977.” Filmed March 1977. YouTube Video, 14:58. Posted by “goodmanmusica,” August 2010. http://youtu.be/eZm7OW3ufbc.

Images and Tables

You can put the information in a caption near the image or in a footnote.  (Images are not usually listed in a bibliography).

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Image: Print

5. Georgia O'Keeffe, The Cliff Chimney, 1938, Milwaukee Art Museum, in Barbara Buhler Lynes, Lesley Poling-Kempes, and Frederick W. Turner, Georgia O'Keeffe and New Mexico: A sense of place (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2004), 25.

 

Buhler Lynes, Barbara, Poling-Kempes, Lesley and Frederick W. Turner, Georgia O'Keeffe and New Mexico: A sense of place. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2004.

Image: Online

6.  Georgia O’Keeffe, The Cliff Chimney, 1938, oil on canvas, 36 x 30", Milwaukee Art Museum, accessed August 10, 2016, https://gokmrc.wordpress.com/2014/09/22/ a-hike-at-ghost-ranch/.

 

 

Table 1. Reid Ewing and Otto Clemente, Measuring urban design: Metrics for livable places (Washington: Island Press, 2013), 65, table 4.1.   Ewing, Reid, and Otto Clemente. Measuring urban design: Metrics for livable places.  Washington: Island Press, 2013.

Conference papers and proceedings

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Conference Proceeding Paper: Print

12. Philip D. Goldswain, "Prospecting: photography and the manufactured landscapes of Kalgoorlie," in XX111 Annual Conference of the Society of Architectural Historians, Australia and New Zealand,  ed. Terrance McMinn, John Stephens, and Steve Basson (Fremantle, WA: Society of Architectural Historians Australia & New Zealand, 2006), 173-177.

 

 

 

17. Goldswain, Prospecting, 175.

 

 

 

 

Goldswain, Philip D. "Prospecting: photography and the manufactured landscapes of Kalgoorlie." In XX111 Annual Conference of the Society of Architectural Historians, Australia and New Zealand, edited by Terrance McMinn, John Stephens, and Steve Basson, 173-177. Fremantle, WA: Society of Architectural Historians Australia & New Zealand, 2006.

 

 

 

Conference Proceeding Paper: Electronic

19. Philip H. Bay, "Social and environmental dimensions in ecologically sustainable design: towards a methodology of ranking levels of social interactions in semi-open and open spaces in dense residential environments in Singapore," in Subtropical Cities 2011: Subtropical Urbanism Beyond Climate Change, (Florida: Florida Atlantic, 2011), 162-176, accessed September 19, 2017,http://www.subtropicalcitites2011.com/pdf2/162%20Bay.pdf.

 

 

29. Bay, Social and environmental dimensions, 167.

 

 

 

Bay, Philip H. "Social and environmental dimensions in ecologically sustainable design: towards a methodology of ranking levels of social interactions in semi-open and open spaces in dense residential environments in Singapore." In Subtropical Cities 2011: Subtropical Urbanism Beyond Climate Change, 162-176. Florida: Florida Atlantic, 2011. Accessed September 19, 2017.  http://www.subtropicalcities2011.com/pdf2/162%20Bay.pdf.

 

 

Multimedia formats & Software

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Subsequent Note Entry

Reference List & Notes

DVD

1. Tom Gibbons, Tom Gibbons: 1998 LWAG and Artplace expos, directed by Miriam Stannage (Perth, WA: Mirian Stannage, 1998), DVD.

 

4. Tom Gibbons

 

Gibbons, Tom. Tom Gibbons: 1998 LWAG and Artplace expos. Directed by Miriam Stannage. Perth, WA: Miriam Stannage, 1998. DVD.

 

Sound recording (composer emphasis)

1. Igor Stravinsky, Symphony of Psalms; Mass; Canticum Sacrum, with Westminster Cathedral Choir and City of London Sinfonia, conducted by James O’Donnel, recorded June 18-20, November 29, 1990, Hyperion CDA66437, 1991, compact disc.

 

Stravinsky, Igor. Symphony of Psalms; Mass; Canticum Sacrum. Westminster Cathedral Choir and City of London Sinfonia. James O’Donnel. Recorded June 18-20, November 29, 1990. Hyperion CDA66437, 1991, compact disc.

Sound recording (performer emphasis)

1. Sara Macliver (soprano) and Sally-Anne Russell (mezzo-soprano), with Orchestra of the Antipodes and Antony Walker (conductor), Baroque Duets, ABC Classics 476 7737, 2005, compact disc.

 

Macliver, Sara (soprano) and Sally-Anne Russell (mezzo-soprano). Orchestra of the Antipodes. Antony Walker. Baroque Duets. ABC Classics 476 7737, 2005, compact disc.

Track from a sound recording

1. Miles Davis, “So What,” on Kind of Blue, Columbia CK 64935, 1997, compact disc.

 

 

Miles Davis. “So What.” On Kind of Blue. Columbia CK 64935, 1997, compact disc.

 

Sound recording (online)

1. Johannes Brahms, Clarinet Sonatas, Kalman Berkes (clarinet) and Jeno Jando (piano), Naxos 8.553121, streaming audio, http://uwa.naxosmusiclibrary.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ catalogue/item.asp?cid=8.553121.

 

Brahms, Johannes. Clarinet Sonatas. Kalman Berkes (clarinet) and Jeno Jando (piano). Naxos 8.553121, streaming audio. http://uwa.naxosmusiclibrary.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ catalogue/item.asp?cid=8.553121.

 

Liner notes from a sound recording

1. Igor Stravinsky, Symphony of Psalms; Mass; Canticum Sacrum, with Westminster Cathedral Choir and City of London Sinfonia, conducted by James O’Donnel, recorded June 18-20, November 29, 1990, Hyperion CDA66437, 1991, compact disc, Liner notes by Ivan Moody.

 

Stravinsky, Igor. Symphony of Psalms; Mass; Canticum Sacrum. Westminster Cathedral Choir and City of London Sinfonia. James O’Donnel. Recorded June 18-20, November 29, 1990. Hyperion CDA66437, 1991, compact disc. Liner notes by Ivan Moody.

Music Scores

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Music Scores (print)

15. Aaron Copland, Concerto, Clarinet and String Orchestra (with Harp and Piano), Reduction for Clarinet and Piano (New York: Boosey & Hawkes, 1950), 10.

 

Copland, Aaron. Concerto, Clarinet and String Orchestra (with Harp and Piano). Reduction for Clarinet and Piano. New York: Boosey & Hawkes, 1950.

Music Scores (online)

15. Johannes Brahms, Clarinet Sonata No.1 in F Minor, Op. 120, No.1, ed. Hans Gál (Germany: Breitkopf and Härtel, 1895), 3. https://search.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/view/ work/bibliographic_entity|score_movement|464771.

 

Brahms, Johannes. Clarinet Sonata No.1 in F Minor, Op. 120, No.1. Edited by Hans Gál. Germany: Breitkopf and Härtel, 1895. https://search.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ view/work/bibliographic_entity|score_movement|464771.

Music Scores (unpublished manuscript)

15. Johann Sebastian Bach, "Was mir behagt, ist nur die muntre Jagd!", BWV 208, ca. 1720-1739, D-B Mus. ms. Bach P 42, Faszikel 3, Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, last modified 22 August 2017, https://www.bach-digital.de/receive/BachDigitalSource_source_00000866.

 

 

Preußischer Kulturbesitz. Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin. Last modified 22 August 2017. https://www.bach-digital.de/receive/BachDigitalSource_source_00000866..

 

 

Lecture Notes

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Lecture Notes

15. Nigel Westbrook, "Le Corbusier and Modern Architecture" (lecture, University of Western Australia, Crawley, WA, April 18, 2007).

18. Westbrook, "Le Corbusier and Modern Architecture".

Westbrook, Nigel. "Le Corbusier and Modern Architecture." Lecture, University of Western Australia, Crawley, WA, April 18, 2007.

Theses

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Thesis: Unpublished in print

 

5. John J. Taylor, "Joseph John Talbot Hobbs (1864-1938): and his Australian-English architecture" (Ph. D., University of Western Australia, 2009), 34-35.

 

 

 

14. Taylor, "Joseph John Talbot Hobbs (1864-1938): and his Australian-English architecture", 101.

 

Taylor, John J. "Joseph John Talbot Hobbs (1864-1938): and his Australian-English architecture." Ph.D., University of Western Australia, 2009.

 

 

 

Thesis: Unpublished electronic copy

10. Annette Nina Condello, "Luxury and architecture : from ancient Sybaris to the early twentieth century" (Ph.D., University of Western Australia, 2009), 25,
http://repository.uwa.edu.au:80/R/-?func=dbin-jump-
full&object_id=13042&silo_library=GEN01

16. Condello, "Luxury and architecture", 34.

 

Condello, Annette Nina. "Luxury and architecture: from ancient Sybaris to the early twentieth century". Ph.D., University of Western Australia, 2009.
http://repository.uwa.edu.au:80/R/-?func=dbin=jump-full&object
_id=13042&amo; silo_library=GEN01.

Personal Communication

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Email

11. Joe Bloggs, “Architecture today”, e-mail to author, September 20, 2015.

16.  Pauline Smith, e-mail message to author, December 8, 2014.

 

 

*As emails are generally not available to the public, they are not usually listed in the bibliography.  Instead, list the email in the text or in a footnote. 

See The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 214

 

Interview: by Author

12.  Janet Andrews (principal adviser, Invest Architects), in discussion with the author, July 2013.

 

 

*Unpublished interviews are best cited in text or in notes, though occasionally appear in bibliographies.

See The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 211.

Interview: published

8.  Donald E. Felsinger, “Turning Energy Uncertainty into Opportunity,” interviewed by Clifford Krauss.  New York Times, May 3, 2008, late edition, sec. C.

"An interview that has been published or broadcast or made available online can usually be treated like an article or other item in a periodical. Interviews consulted online should include a URL or similar identifier."

See The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 213.

 

Felsinger, Donald E.  “Turning Energy Uncertainty into Opportunity.”  Interview by Clifford Krauss.  New York Times, May 3, 2008, late edition, sec. C.

 

 

Citing information someone else has cited

Material Type

Secondary Citation

Citing a secondary source is generally discouraged, since authors are expected to have examined the works they cite. If an original source is unavailable both the original and the secondary source must be listed.

Using short form of citations and ibid.

Shortened citations 

Subsequent citations already given in full should be shortened in footnotes whenever possible.  The short form should include enough information to remind the reader of the full title or to lead them to appropriate entry in the bibliography. 

e.g.        2. Fabio Schillaci, Architectural Renderings: construction and design manual (Chichester: West Sussex: Wiley, 2010), 120. (First time cited in footnotes).

              3. Schillaci, Architectural renderings, 251.

              4. Schillaci, 257.

              5. Richard Read, Art and its Discontents: The Early Life of Adrian Stokes (Aldershot, England: Ashgate, 2002), 65.

              6. Schillaci, Architectural renderings, 258.

See The Chicago Manual of Style Online, Chapter 14, Section 34.

Using Ibid.

In previous editions of the manual (16th edition and earlier) the abbreviation ibid. (abbreviated from the Latin "ibidem" which means "in the same place") was used to cite the same source and page number(s) from a single source two or more times consecutively.  If you use the same source but a different page number, the corresponding note uses ibid followed by a comma and the new page number(s).

The 17th edition discourages the use of Ibid in favour of shortened citations. 

e.g.         6. Fabio Schillaci, Architectural Renderings: construction and design manual (Chichester: West Sussex: Wiley, 2010), 120. (First time cited in footnotes).

               7. Schillaci, Architectural renderings, 251.

               8. Ibid., 271-273.

               9. Ibid.

              10. Ibid., 450.

              11. Richard Read, Art and its Discontents: The Early Life of Adrian Stokes (Aldershot, England: Ashgate, 2002), 65.

              12. Schillaci, Architectural renderings, 277.